The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Forum Support > Site Questions and Tech Support (NO FIREARMS QUESTIONS)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 10, 2009, 07:50 PM   #1
Bartholomew Roberts
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 12, 2000
Location: Texas and Oklahoma area
Posts: 5,637
Strange Error with Advanced Search and IE8

Against my better judgment, I downloaded IE8 and installed it several days ago. Just today, when I try to use the Advanced Search feature on TFL, I get the "WIndows cannot find connection -> Diagnose Connection" window every time.

When I click on "Diagnose Connection" it immediately loads the screen telling me I can only search every 5 seconds and Windows says "No problem with connection." Every time I hit "Search", the whole process repeats.

Any suggestions?

Another weird one... I went to edit my reply and got the edit window and was actually typing new information in when all of a sudden I got the "This link appears to be broken" window. Obviously, it seems to be working OK now.

Last edited by Bartholomew Roberts; July 10, 2009 at 08:27 PM.
Bartholomew Roberts is offline  
Old July 12, 2009, 12:23 AM   #2
tyme
Staff
 
Join Date: October 13, 2001
Posts: 3,152
Just tried in ie8. Works for me. My ie8 security zone setting for the internet at large (including tfl) is medium-high.

Is the computer/browser in question accessing the internet through a wireless connection? If so, perhaps wireless is cutting out?

Does firefox, opera, or chrome have the same problem?

There's always the malware possibility.
malwarebytes
hijackthis

Other than that, all I can suggest is grabbing wireshark and trying to find out if IE8 is sending and receiving the right http data, but a tutorial on wireshark won't fit in the margin here.
__________________
“The egg hatched...” “...the egg hatched... and a hundred baby spiders came out...”
“Who are you?” “A friend. I'm here to prevent you from making a mistake.” “You have no idea what I'm doing here, friend.” “In specific terms, no, but I swore an oath to protect the world...”
“It's a goal you won't understand until later. Your job is to make sure he doesn't achieve the goal.”
tyme is offline  
Old July 12, 2009, 08:34 PM   #3
Brian Pfleuger
Staff
 
Join Date: June 25, 2008
Location: Central, Southern NY, USA
Posts: 18,342
I have also gotten an intermittent error when searching the forum recently. Using Mac OS 10.5, Safari and Firefox.

I don't recall the exact message, some sort of server error, or non response or something.

I get it exactly if I see it again.
__________________
Still happily answering to the call-sign Peetza.
---
The problem, as you so eloquently put it, is choice.
-The Architect
-----
He is no fool who gives what he can not keep to gain what he can not lose.
-Jim Eliott, paraphrasing Philip Henry.
Brian Pfleuger is offline  
Old July 13, 2009, 09:52 AM   #4
Brian Pfleuger
Staff
 
Join Date: June 25, 2008
Location: Central, Southern NY, USA
Posts: 18,342
Here's the error in Safari:




and Firefox:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Safari.jpg (116.5 KB, 114 views)
File Type: jpg Firefox.jpg (125.3 KB, 115 views)
__________________
Still happily answering to the call-sign Peetza.
---
The problem, as you so eloquently put it, is choice.
-The Architect
-----
He is no fool who gives what he can not keep to gain what he can not lose.
-Jim Eliott, paraphrasing Philip Henry.
Brian Pfleuger is offline  
Old July 13, 2009, 11:08 AM   #5
tyme
Staff
 
Join Date: October 13, 2001
Posts: 3,152
Did you get those errors when using the advanced search page, or just the normal search pop-up box? And approximately how often does this happen?

I tried doing a few dozen searches just now (from the search pop-up box, not the advanced search page), and I couldn't reproduce the error (firefox 3.5). There's got to be some other factor.

Also (peetza) it looks like both your firefox and safari versions aren't the latest. I'm sure that has nothing to do with it, just mentioning it because new browser versions often fix security problems...
__________________
“The egg hatched...” “...the egg hatched... and a hundred baby spiders came out...”
“Who are you?” “A friend. I'm here to prevent you from making a mistake.” “You have no idea what I'm doing here, friend.” “In specific terms, no, but I swore an oath to protect the world...”
“It's a goal you won't understand until later. Your job is to make sure he doesn't achieve the goal.”
tyme is offline  
Old July 13, 2009, 11:14 AM   #6
Brian Pfleuger
Staff
 
Join Date: June 25, 2008
Location: Central, Southern NY, USA
Posts: 18,342
Both at the time, although trying it just now they both work.... intermittent problem apparently. Previously, the pop-up search would give me an error while the advanced search worked....
__________________
Still happily answering to the call-sign Peetza.
---
The problem, as you so eloquently put it, is choice.
-The Architect
-----
He is no fool who gives what he can not keep to gain what he can not lose.
-Jim Eliott, paraphrasing Philip Henry.
Brian Pfleuger is offline  
Old July 13, 2009, 12:39 PM   #7
tyme
Staff
 
Join Date: October 13, 2001
Posts: 3,152
Are either of you using proxies? Some antiviruses and firewalls do http proxying as well. There seem to be a lot of references on the web to similar problems involving proxies.
__________________
“The egg hatched...” “...the egg hatched... and a hundred baby spiders came out...”
“Who are you?” “A friend. I'm here to prevent you from making a mistake.” “You have no idea what I'm doing here, friend.” “In specific terms, no, but I swore an oath to protect the world...”
“It's a goal you won't understand until later. Your job is to make sure he doesn't achieve the goal.”
tyme is offline  
Old July 13, 2009, 01:37 PM   #8
Brian Pfleuger
Staff
 
Join Date: June 25, 2008
Location: Central, Southern NY, USA
Posts: 18,342
Not I.

My configuration hasn't changed in months and the problem is not more than a few days old.
__________________
Still happily answering to the call-sign Peetza.
---
The problem, as you so eloquently put it, is choice.
-The Architect
-----
He is no fool who gives what he can not keep to gain what he can not lose.
-Jim Eliott, paraphrasing Philip Henry.
Brian Pfleuger is offline  
Old July 13, 2009, 03:10 PM   #9
Brian Pfleuger
Staff
 
Join Date: June 25, 2008
Location: Central, Southern NY, USA
Posts: 18,342
Additional info:

If I put a "nonsense" search term like "gvajksdfgkhjsda" in the search box, I get and error every time. If I use real words, it's only sometimes.
__________________
Still happily answering to the call-sign Peetza.
---
The problem, as you so eloquently put it, is choice.
-The Architect
-----
He is no fool who gives what he can not keep to gain what he can not lose.
-Jim Eliott, paraphrasing Philip Henry.
Brian Pfleuger is offline  
Old July 13, 2009, 08:21 PM   #10
Bartholomew Roberts
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 12, 2000
Location: Texas and Oklahoma area
Posts: 5,637
No proxies here, though it is on a wireless connection so it was possible the wireless was cutting out; but at the same time I was having TFL trouble I was still connecting OK to other web sites.

Typically when the wireless cuts out, it is a several minute thing and the Internet doesn't work at all. This would had to have been really brief 30-60 second outages in order to be the wireless. When I get back to the laptop, I'll try Advanced Search again and see if the problem repeats.
Bartholomew Roberts is offline  
Old July 13, 2009, 09:57 PM   #11
tyme
Staff
 
Join Date: October 13, 2001
Posts: 3,152
aha.. peetza gets a cookie, or pizza, or something. Searching for nonexistent words is what reproduced it for me.

BR: Is your IE8 symptom fixed?

There were two lines at the top that I added in when we switched to the sphinx search engine, to show the number of hits for each word in the search string. (I admit it wasn't kosher to output stuff before the html.) Sadly, it appears that vbulletin doesn't enable zlib compression until after those two lines are printed. The http headers tell the browser that the response is compressed, but those two lines weren't, so it threw a fit. They might not have been getting counted in the content-length header, either.

What I don't know is why it was working before. There must have been some behavior change in a recent version of php or lighttpd. It might have been output buffering. Maybe php used to wait until the output buffer was full before it checked whether to compress, and maybe now it compresses on each and every write to the buffer. Seems inefficient, but I have no idea, just guessing.
__________________
“The egg hatched...” “...the egg hatched... and a hundred baby spiders came out...”
“Who are you?” “A friend. I'm here to prevent you from making a mistake.” “You have no idea what I'm doing here, friend.” “In specific terms, no, but I swore an oath to protect the world...”
“It's a goal you won't understand until later. Your job is to make sure he doesn't achieve the goal.”
tyme is offline  
Old July 14, 2009, 09:50 PM   #12
OuTcAsT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 8, 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Sadly, it appears that vbulletin doesn't enable zlib compression until after those two lines are printed. The http headers tell the browser that the response is compressed, but those two lines weren't, so it threw a fit. They might not have been getting counted in the content-length header, either.

What I don't know is why it was working before. There must have been some behavior change in a recent version of php or lighttpd. It might have been output buffering. Maybe php used to wait until the output buffer was full before it checked whether to compress, and maybe now it compresses on each and every write to the buffer. Seems inefficient, but I have no idea, just guessing.
Could we get that in English McGee ?
__________________
WITHOUT Freedom of Thought, there can be no such Thing as Wisdom; and no such Thing as public Liberty, without Freedom of Speech. Silence Dogood

Does not morality imply the last clear chance? - WildAlaska -
OuTcAsT is offline  
Old July 15, 2009, 10:12 AM   #13
Brian Pfleuger
Staff
 
Join Date: June 25, 2008
Location: Central, Southern NY, USA
Posts: 18,342
Quote:
Could we get that in English McGee ?
It was broken, now it's not...
__________________
Still happily answering to the call-sign Peetza.
---
The problem, as you so eloquently put it, is choice.
-The Architect
-----
He is no fool who gives what he can not keep to gain what he can not lose.
-Jim Eliott, paraphrasing Philip Henry.
Brian Pfleuger is offline  
Old July 24, 2009, 06:47 PM   #14
Bartholomew Roberts
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 12, 2000
Location: Texas and Oklahoma area
Posts: 5,637
Ran Advanced Search from a different wireless network with the same laptop and no issues. So it was either network related or it is fixed now.
Bartholomew Roberts is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.09768 seconds with 10 queries