The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 4, 2009, 07:49 PM   #1
DaveInPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 20, 2008
Location: Berks County, PA
Posts: 1,106
RCBS Uniflow powder measure on Lee Classic Turret Press?

I'm sick of dealing with the Lee auto disk powder measure, and I want to use my RCBS Uniflow with my turret press. Can I use the RCBS on that press using this kit?:

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpag...eitemid=591344
DaveInPA is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 01:24 AM   #2
Sixer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 16, 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,891
I don't have an answer for ya, but I'd like know as well... what options are available and whatnot.
__________________
Hopp Custom Leather <------ click for HOLSTER awesomeness!!

-There is no theory of evolution... Just a list of creatures Chuck Norris has allowed to live.
Sixer is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 03:35 AM   #3
DaveInPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 20, 2008
Location: Berks County, PA
Posts: 1,106
Well, I went ahead and ordered it. I'll post an update on how it works.
DaveInPA is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 04:08 AM   #4
shooter007
Junior member
 
Join Date: April 22, 2009
Posts: 103
RCBS everything...simple!
shooter007 is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 05:05 AM   #5
DaveInPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 20, 2008
Location: Berks County, PA
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
RCBS everything...simple!
Care to elaborate? RCBS doesn't make anything like that Hornady setup.
DaveInPA is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 09:14 AM   #6
freakshow10mm
Junior member
 
Join Date: January 23, 2008
Location: MI
Posts: 1,398
Although they are essentially the same basic design, I don't know if the Hornady kit will fit or work on the Uniflow measure.
freakshow10mm is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 09:25 AM   #7
Mike Irwin
Staff
 
Join Date: April 13, 2000
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 36,117
I'm going to have to say that you're probably going to fail in your attempt to use that with your Lee turret press.

In the Lee turret, the top of the press moves, the dies spin in a circle.

In the Hornady turret, the shellplate moves, the dies are stationary on the press.

If I'm interpreting that that mechanism correctly, you might need a stationary toohead for it to work.

Interesting question, though.
__________________
"The gift which I am sending you is called a dog, and is in fact the most precious and valuable possession of mankind" -Theodorus Gaza

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Mike Irwin is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 09:33 AM   #8
DaveInPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 20, 2008
Location: Berks County, PA
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
I'm going to have to say that you're probably going to fail in your attempt to use that with your Lee turret press.

In the Lee turret, the top of the press moves, the dies spin in a circle.

In the Hornady turret, the shellplate moves, the dies are stationary on the press.

If I'm interpreting that that mechanism correctly, you might need a stationary toohead for it to work.

Interesting question, though.
I'm not sure why exactly that would make a difference. The die itself doesn't move, just the "turret" that the dies are screwed into. Oh well, I'll try it. If it doesn't work, Midway has a good return policy.
DaveInPA is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 09:34 AM   #9
DaveInPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 20, 2008
Location: Berks County, PA
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
Although they are essentially the same basic design, I don't know if the Hornady kit will fit or work on the Uniflow measure.
I was actually able to find reviews of the Hornady unit that stated that it does work with the Uniflow. Whether or not it will work on my press is the part I need to check once it arrives.
DaveInPA is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 10:07 AM   #10
Mike Irwin
Staff
 
Join Date: April 13, 2000
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 36,117
Dave,

Hornady has a picture of such an assembly on their website, and it APPEARS from the picture (kind of hard to tell) that the assembly attaches to the side of the press frame.

If that is the case, it won't work because the toolhead on the Lee spins -- you won't be able to attach it to the side of the press.
__________________
"The gift which I am sending you is called a dog, and is in fact the most precious and valuable possession of mankind" -Theodorus Gaza

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Mike Irwin is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 10:12 AM   #11
howlnmad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 29, 2009
Location: Harriman Tn
Posts: 413
It is amazing how some posts and questions can get so turned around. This thread started by asking about RCBS on Lee and got turned to Hornady? Just being a smart-a#& .
howlnmad is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 10:31 AM   #12
Mike Irwin
Staff
 
Join Date: April 13, 2000
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 36,117
It turned to Hornady because Hornady is the manufacturer of the device that would turn a manually operated RCBS Uniflow into an automatic powder measure.

Click the link that Dave provided.

So, we HAVE to discuss Hornady -- it's their BOPOS that will hopefully turn an RCBS Uniflow into an automatic powder measure on a Lee press.
__________________
"The gift which I am sending you is called a dog, and is in fact the most precious and valuable possession of mankind" -Theodorus Gaza

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Mike Irwin is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 10:50 AM   #13
howlnmad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 29, 2009
Location: Harriman Tn
Posts: 413
My apologies, I had not clicked that link and so had spoken out of line
howlnmad is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 10:54 AM   #14
DaveInPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 20, 2008
Location: Berks County, PA
Posts: 1,106
Mike,

Here is a picture of the device on a press. It does not appear that it attaches to the press frame, so I remain hopeful!

DaveInPA is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:15 AM   #15
Sam06
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 19, 2008
Location: Fayettenam
Posts: 1,086
Dave, I would think your RCBS uniflow would just screw into one of the turret holes. I do this with a redding powder flow on my T-7 Turret press. It is not Auto dispensing like on my 550B, I still have to manually move the turret to the station I want and flip the lever on the powder dispenser but its all right there on the press. Most of the powder dispensers I have seen and had are threded to go into a Press, just like a die.

As far is that set up going to work I am not sure. I believe the Hornady automatically dispenses powder when the ram comes up and is actuated by the case in the shell holder.

Good luck with it.................Sam
__________________
The two most abundant elements in the universe are hydrogen and stupidity.
Sam06 is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:23 AM   #16
Mike Irwin
Staff
 
Join Date: April 13, 2000
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 36,117
Dave,

I didn't see that picture. I saw a different picture. That one does make it look as if the unit will work on a Lee, and even clear the Safety Prime mechanism.

Keep us updated, I might be interested in doing this, as well.
__________________
"The gift which I am sending you is called a dog, and is in fact the most precious and valuable possession of mankind" -Theodorus Gaza

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Mike Irwin is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 12:19 PM   #17
DaveInGA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 13, 2005
Location: Flowery Branch, GA
Posts: 132
Dave,

I own the Lee Classic Turret press. I own a Uniflow Powder measure. I own the Hornady LnL case activated powder drop. I put the LnL CAPD and the Uniflow on top of the Lee Classic Turret press. It worked and worked well. You'll have to adjust it properly and align it not to interfere with other things, but it works.

I hope this answers your questions.

Regards,

Dave
DaveInGA is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 12:23 PM   #18
Naear
Junior Member
 
Join Date: June 5, 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 6
http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=248967
I'd like to setup a uniflow on my LCT someday.

BTW thanks DaveinGA for your post on THR

Last edited by Naear; June 5, 2009 at 12:28 PM.
Naear is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 12:31 PM   #19
snuffy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 20, 2001
Location: Oshkosh wi.
Posts: 2,781
Yes it will work. No, RCBS also has a CAPD, theirs looks very similar to the Hornady CAPD,(midway used to also carry it.)

The Hornady CAPD is case activated, needs no connection to a press frame. I use one on my dillon 650.



Here's a pic of the powder sensor removed to show the linkage.



This Hornady linkage will work on any drum type measure where the handle can be removed to hook the activator lever to the measure. Dave, yours will be slightly different than mine, it's the older style, they've "improved" it. I don't know if it will clear the safety prime though.
__________________
The more people I meet, the more I love my dog

They're going to get their butts kicked over there this election. How come people can't spell and use words correctly?
snuffy is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 12:53 PM   #20
DaveInPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 20, 2008
Location: Berks County, PA
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
Dave,

I own the Lee Classic Turret press. I own a Uniflow Powder measure. I own the Hornady LnL case activated powder drop. I put the LnL CAPD and the Uniflow on top of the Lee Classic Turret press. It worked and worked well. You'll have to adjust it properly and align it not to interfere with other things, but it works.

I hope this answers your questions.

Regards,

Dave
Fantastic news! Thanks!

Once the Hornady unit gets delivered next week, I can start loading again. My Lee pro auto disk has gone all to hell. The first 1-5 charges will be ok, but after that the charges will start getting heavier and heavier and in no time I'm well above the max powder charge. I don't know what happened, but I can no longer trust it. My RCBS Uniflow has always been spot on perfect, so this setup will be great.

Also, a couple of questions. I load .223 and .45ACP. Does the Hornady unit include proper drop tubes for both calibers? Also, I ordered the Hornady powder through case mouth flaring piece for the .45ACP. Will that work with the die that comes with the Hornady powder drop?
DaveInPA is offline  
Old June 5, 2009, 04:55 PM   #21
Alleykat
Junior member
 
Join Date: July 26, 2007
Posts: 3,668
I'm also using the Hornady case-activated kit. It works fine on Uniflo and several other drum-type brands. I use it with an old Pacific (pre-Hornady, but the same measure) measure. Haven't tried the expander feature, as I only use the Hornady setup for bottleneck reloading that doesn't require neck belling.
Alleykat is offline  
Old June 6, 2009, 02:51 PM   #22
snuffy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 20, 2001
Location: Oshkosh wi.
Posts: 2,781
Ha! They DO still sell the RCBS linkage.



Found here;

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct...802477#enlarge
__________________
The more people I meet, the more I love my dog

They're going to get their butts kicked over there this election. How come people can't spell and use words correctly?
snuffy is offline  
Old June 6, 2009, 11:53 PM   #23
DaveInPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 20, 2008
Location: Berks County, PA
Posts: 1,106
And it's a lot more expensive for no reason.
DaveInPA is offline  
Old June 7, 2009, 01:02 AM   #24
Mike Irwin
Staff
 
Join Date: April 13, 2000
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 36,117
Holy crap that's expensive!

Hell, I'd be hard pressed to buy the Hornday linkage...
__________________
"The gift which I am sending you is called a dog, and is in fact the most precious and valuable possession of mankind" -Theodorus Gaza

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Mike Irwin is offline  
Old June 7, 2009, 08:42 AM   #25
rogn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 25, 2005
Posts: 185
One other unit to consder is the Little dandy made by RCBS, it uses fixed rotrors and wont jiggle out of adjustment, its great for pistol loads and I think some rotors will accomodate 223 loads with lower doses of powder. Ive modified some rotors to get loads with specific powers and specific bullets, good shrp drill in drill press and caution work well. Main reason to suggest is the unit is small and light, and is stable in loads thrown. One mention however, it will throw two loads as will any other measure there is the light non-jiggled load and the heavier Jiggled load. The Jiggled loads I find to be more consistant.
rogn is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.12133 seconds with 8 queries