The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old June 4, 2009, 04:40 PM   #1
kmullins

Summit Safes

Hello everyone. As some of you know, I have been on the quest for a gun safe for about 6 months now. I thought I had finally narrowed it down to a AMSEC BF7250, but a trip to West Coast Safes today changed my mind drastically. I talked a very friendly gentleman there who was extremely knowledgeable about safes of all kinds. I was steered away from the BF7250 and instead he suggested a Summit Denali series safe. The safe weighs around 300 lbs. more and has around twice the steel in the door and in the body the AMSEC BF7250 has. Also has top and bottom door re-lockers (which the AMSEC does not have) and also has a glass relocker. I am new to this brand, Summit Safes, but they seem to be a incredible value and a great safe. I definitely think this safe has the BF7250 beat one every level, but I know there is a lot AMSEC fans out there. Let me know what you think. Thanks.

Kyle

EDIT: forgot to add the size of the safe I am looking at is 72"x56"28".
Old June 4, 2009, 06:48 PM   #2
a1abdj

Based on the information on the Summit safe site, your salesman was wrong.

According to Summit, their safe has a 3/8" door, and a 1/8" body. This is exactly the same as the AMSEC BF7250, and slightly lighter than the other BF series units (not counting the second steel liner on the AMSECs). The website also mentions "layers" of fire protection. This is code for "not as good as composite injection" which is what the AMSEC (and most other real fire rated safes on the market) use. The nice thing about the Summits, is that it appears you can upgrade the body as an option.

http://www.summitsafes.com/denali.html

I can not comment on the weight because I don't have much experience with the Summit line, but have encountered several other safes from a variety of manufacturers that weigh less than what is listed in the literature.