The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old June 1, 2009, 06:47 PM   #1
ninjatoth

Snubs .45acp Vs .357 Magnum?

I was just wondering what you all thought about which one of these guns would be better for self defense.I am naming the .45acp and the .357 magnum because they are so ballistically similar in foot lbs energy(around 400FPE in a snub)yet are so different in slug weight and velocity.What are the pros and cons of each caliber?I am not an expert at all,and I do really want to know from experienced people which round is better.
Old June 1, 2009, 07:15 PM   #2
azsixshooter

My vote is for .357 Magnum.

You might want to consider some other things too:

With the .357 Mag if you have to resort to scrounging ammo on the street or from friends you can use .38 Special, .38 +p, .38 +p+ or .357 Mag. If you want to shoot less expensive ammo, ie- plinking, you can load up with .38's. For self-defense you can load a nice 125 grain SJHP or something and for hunting you can carry some kind of full house 180 or 200 grain hard cast bullet like what Buffalo Bore or Corbon offer. Or load something for yourself. Not sure if snake shot is available for .45 ACP or not, it probably is. It definitely is for .357 Mag, but I grew up in Michigan and never saw a Michigan Rattler. My uncle and cousins lived out in Howell across from this wetland/swampy area and they were always back in there bowhunting and they said they saw rattlers in there. We have them here in AZ

Do you already have any other guns in either caliber? That could affect your decision either way, maybe you want something different or maybe you'd want to be able to use the same rounds or loading dies for each gun. Or maybe you might have a spouse or child who might someday be called upon to defend the castle gates. Maybe it would be nice to have access to some lighter recoiling .38's to shoot out of a .357 Mag.