The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 20, 2009, 02:42 PM   #1
shooter007

Primers for 270 Win

I am trying to order primers, which is a waste of time right now, but im a little confused as to which primers to order. I have a 270 Win and Im aware that I need Large Rifle Primers, but I have seen 9 1/2 Large Rifle, #210 Large Rifle,Large Rifle BR, etc. So as long as it says Large Rifle am I ok or what exactly do I need?
Old May 20, 2009, 03:01 PM   #2
McClintock

The way I understand it...

I'm a little new to rifle reloading myself, but the way I understand it, the "BR" is a Bench Rest primer, which supposedly are made for specifically Bench Rest (target?) shooting, and thus are supposed to be made to more rigid specifications than your standard every day primers, in order to provide more consistent burn. I haven't used the BR primers, so I can't really comment on whether or not they are worth the extra cost (to me, anyway, since I don't shoot rifles competitively).

Every manufacturer has different "model" numbers for their respective version of a Large Rifle Primer. The #200, 9-1/2, and so on are merely the manufacturer's designations for their products.

Using any of the following should be sufficient:
Winchester Large Rifle Primer
CCI #200 Large Rifle Primer
Remington 9-1/2 Large Rifle Primer
Wolf Large Rifle Primer

What you want to be cautious of is using Magnum primers in a non-magnum caliber, as I believe their burn characteristics are different. Sizewise, they are the same, so they will fit the primer pocket, but should only be used in a magnum application (i.e. 7mm Win. Magnum, .300 Win. Magnum, etc.).

This may help, if you have (or if you are able to get) CCI primers (Most primer manufacturers should have similar web pages, I think.):

http://www.cci-ammunition.com/produc...imer_chart.htm

Other, more experienced rifle reloaders, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.