The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 11, 2009, 11:35 AM   #1
Join Date: January 28, 2008
Posts: 20
CZ 527 Scope Ring Issues

I have a CZ 527 carbine that I've wanted to scope. HAS ANYBODY ELSE HAD A PROBLEM GETTING A CZ 527 SCOPED OUT? By the way, my scope is a Vari X-III Leupold 1.5-5X20.

I went to Cabela's for rings and picked up Leupold Medium CZ 527 rings. They didn't work, two rear rings were in the package (and the other one didn't even sit rite on the rear base). Second trip, go back to Cabela's and get exchanged for the remaining package of Leupold CZ 527 rings and they didn't work either. The ring for the rear base fit better, but the ring for the front base is too wide by like and 1/8 of an inch and just slides off. What junk! I am not happy with Leupold over this.
What to do?
I guess I should have just called CZ-USA and got the factory rings (only sold in high).
SMITTY70 is offline  
Old May 11, 2009, 12:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: May 18, 1999
Location: Hemet (middle of nowhere) California
Posts: 4,261
That's one of the few things that I don't like about CZs. Scoping them is a PIA! And the excessively long bolt throw forces you to mount the scope way too high.
Proud Life Member: National Rifle Association, California Rifle & Pistol Association, and the Second Amendment Foundation.
Annual Member: Revolutionary War Veterans Association (Project Appleseed) and the Madison Society.
sholling is offline  
Old May 11, 2009, 12:45 PM   #3
Junior member
Join Date: February 12, 2009
Location: Tn
Posts: 400
Midway has rings for CZs and will ship today, if in stock. These rings are FAR better than the CZ supplied ones in both 527 and 550
pilothunter is offline  
Old May 11, 2009, 02:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: September 15, 2007
Posts: 1,489
Is yours a 1" scope? I have 1" medium Warne rings which I am not using since I mounted a 30mm scope. They worked really well for me for several years.

If you PM me with an address, I'll pack 'em up and ship 'em to you. Just send me back whatever the shipping amount is.

Send me your particulars via PM.

Oh. BTW, you will want to have your bolt handle recontoured so that the ocular lens bell will clear the bolt handle. It cost me $25 at Hickman Rifles. It is better than finding high rings, which make shooting your rifle much less enjoyable.

stubbicatt is offline  
Old May 11, 2009, 04:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
Join Date: September 19, 2008
Posts: 4,679
I've always put Burris/CZ rings on my CZ's (527,550, & 611) w/o any issues whatsoever.

Besides which, they're about half the price of the CZ issue rings.

I buy online, from a discount optics dealer:

PetahW is offline  
Old May 16, 2009, 10:51 PM   #6
Join Date: December 29, 2008
Location: central ohio
Posts: 42
Burris Rings

Question for PetahW -

Was there any bolt interference with the Burris rings?
Any other clearance problems?

I just bought a 527 carbine but haven't ordered the scope and rings yet.


speedsixman is offline  
Old May 16, 2009, 11:09 PM   #7
chris in va
Senior Member
Join Date: December 26, 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 13,111
Here you go, this will cure the issue of proprietary CZ rings.
chris in va is offline  
Old May 17, 2009, 12:13 AM   #8
Join Date: May 15, 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 15
I'm interested to hear the answers to these questions too and how the situation can be comfortably fixed.

Also, in reference to clearing the bolt handle - how much higher than standard are we saying the scope needs to be to clear? Or does the milling of the bolt handle cure the need for a higher than optimal mounting?

Always out-numbered, never out-gunned
MAWLER is offline  
Old May 17, 2009, 03:17 AM   #9
Senior Member
Join Date: December 20, 2007
Posts: 447
I'm not familiar with the carbine, but do own a CZ 527 .223 Cal. Varmint Kevlar rifle, and use the following configuration.

Receiver dovetail: 16mm
Weaver 6-20x40mm AO Grand Slam Riflescope w/ Butler Creek FO Covers
CZ Rings, Medium (.555"). (CZ only carries one size ring.)

Some CZ owners purchase James Calhoun's modified bolt for addtional clearance however I didn't find it was necessary with my set up.

EAJ702 is offline  
Old May 17, 2009, 07:51 AM   #10
Senior Member
Join Date: November 20, 2007
Location: South Western OK
Posts: 2,286
I own two CZ 527 rifles and have scoped several for other guys. Have always used the CZ rings that come with the rifle and have never had a problem. I do use the scope alignment bars and the honing bar.
thallub is offline  
Old May 17, 2009, 08:31 AM   #11
Senior Member
Join Date: September 19, 2008
Posts: 4,679
[Was there any bolt interference with the Burris rings?]
[Any other clearance problems?]

As posted, no issues. ( CZ-527Lux Hornet, Leupy Compact 2-7x28mm )

PetahW is offline  
Old May 17, 2009, 03:30 PM   #12
Join Date: January 28, 2008
Posts: 20
Still having issues with the 527 rings.

A guy on here, stubbicatt sent me some Warne medium rings. Thanks for the effort, but they didn't work out for me. Thanks for the effort, I'll get them back in the mail to you before this week is over.

My rifle is a CZ 527 carbine in 7.62X39 (with iron sites) and my scope is a Leupold Vari X-III 1.5-5X20. The Warne rings did fit much better than the two sets of Leupold 527 rings that I tried out.

Two issues with the Warne rings:
First the rings still were short enough that on a lower power setting on my glass (like 1.5 to nearly 3 power) I could still see the outline of the front site hood in the optic. I'm going to have to use Warne high rings or factory CZ rings.
Secondly there is the bolt handle issue, it needs to be bent if a guy is going to use a medium set of rings. The blolt handle will smack right up against the rear bell (rear objective) of the scope. I guess there is a reason that CZ only produces high 527 rings, as low's would never work and medium rings would require a mod. to the bolt handle.
I do think the 527 Carbine in 7.62X39 is a great little rifle and would keep it even if I couldn't scope it out.
Thanks for everybodies help.
SMITTY70 is offline  
Old May 17, 2009, 06:21 PM   #13
Senior Member
Join Date: September 19, 2008
Posts: 4,679
It's quite common, with ANY rings, to see the front sight at the lower end of a scope's power range - because that's where it remains in focus.
It cannot be seen at the higher end because it's then out of focus.

Most shooters simply get used to it being there, as it's only a distraction when first encountered.
A big help would be to remove the front sight hood - something I've done with every rifle I've owned since 1963.

PetahW is offline  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2015 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent:
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.14097 seconds with 7 queries