The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Closed Thread

Old May 3, 2009, 12:27 AM   #1
Micahweeks

FNP vs. Glock

First of all this is not a thread to debate which of these fine handguns is better. Both have their place, and it is pointless to try and say that either is better than the other in every way. So, let's just stop that silliness right now. What this thread IS about is my experience with the FNP 40 and the Glock 22 side by side at the range. I will detail my experience and pose a couple of questions that I would like to hear everyone weigh in on.

First, I have a lot of experience with the Glock 22. It is a terrific firearm. I am really thinking hard about buying the new RTF. I started shooting the G22 well before the FNP 40 was on the market. So, don't think that my statements below are due to a lack of experience.

1. Despite having put thousands upon thousands of rounds through various G22s, I was able to shoot more accurately with the FNP 40. At 25 yards I almost consistently shot 1 inch smaller groups with the FNP. I am not sure if this is due to the different barrel rifling or the browning action or what. I just know that I consistently, on every shot, hit closer to my mark with the FNP. Maybe it's the different grip angle, although the Glock angle is more than comfortable to me.

2. The FNP was just as reliable as any Glock I have fired. In my range trip, I put between 1300 and 1500 rounds through the FNP with absolutely no hiccups. The ammo fired was a variety of horrible quality range reloads, WWB, and a few boxes of Federal Hydrashock. So, I am convinced that the reliability is on par with Glock.