The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 27, 2009, 09:12 PM   #1
doublesforme
Member
 
Join Date: July 25, 2002
Location: ne lower michigan
Posts: 32
Opening up a Choke

I recently bought a nice 20ga Wingmaster with a 28' barrel and a full choke.
I kind of had it in the back of my mind of using a hone to take a few thousandth's out of the choke to open it up a bit.
My question is, could it be done without screwing up the POI, I mean, would the hone run true enough to keep it concentric and not mess things up.
I know a reamer is the correct way to do this, but the price of the reamer to do one barrel hardly seems worth it. (Unless I mess it up, then it would have been worth it.)
Has anyone else done this?
Thanks for any help
doublesforme is offline  
Old April 28, 2009, 10:08 AM   #2
sadsack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 4, 2006
Posts: 206
Doubles: It can be done with a hone, but its not the best method. The more you take off with a hone increases the chances of changing the point of impact. A hone should be used to polish the bore after using the reamer.
sadsack is offline  
Old April 28, 2009, 10:39 AM   #3
grymster2007
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 22, 2007
Location: In the oak studded hills near Napa
Posts: 2,203
A Sunnen type honing machine, in the hands of someone that kinda knows what they're doing, will take the material out very quickly and should not change POI. A drill motor mounted brake cylinder hone may work also, but I'd be real careful.
__________________
grym
grymster2007 is offline  
Old April 28, 2009, 10:56 AM   #4
GuyMontag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 23, 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 131
Is there not a removable choke tube? For all the time and trouble, why wouldn't you just buy a new choke tube? I'm confused...
GuyMontag is offline  
Old April 28, 2009, 11:56 AM   #5
doublesforme
Member
 
Join Date: July 25, 2002
Location: ne lower michigan
Posts: 32
Nope, no choke tubes, just a fixed full choke.
I'll be taking it shooting sporting clays this weekend, maybe it won't be as tight as I suspect it is. We'll see.
Thanks everyone
doublesforme is offline  
Old April 28, 2009, 11:27 PM   #6
gunn308
Member
 
Join Date: October 4, 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 73
Can you get a replacement barrel in a skeet choke? Then you won't have to take a chance of ruining a good gun, maybe it will cost more than a reamer but then you will have what you want/need. Full choke is pretty nice for sabot slugs and 00Buck.
__________________
Oats that have already gone through the horse are always cheaper than oats that haven't !
gunn308 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2013 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07138 seconds with 7 queries