The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 5, 2009, 11:00 AM   #1
Ozzieman

Magnum VS Standard Primers.

Magnum VS Standard Primers.

Due to other threads that appeared here over the past couple of months I decided to perform a little test of my own.
This test is all from personal experience, I have no hard facts other than felt response and visual data.
The cases that I used were all once fired Remington 9mm cases (Other than one that has the cannelure line that snuck in).
All had the same bullet: Hornady, XTP 9MM, #35540, 115 GR HP/XTP.
Powder was Winchester 231. I have a lot of experience with 231 and I like how clean it is.
Powder charge for both primers was the same and all were weighed at 4.5 GR.
This charge weight was one that I have been using for 9mm for many years and it functions in all the guns that I own that shoot 9mm, function has been flawless in over +5000 rounds over the past decade.
Recommended powder charges for this bullets and powder are
Min: 4.1 GR @ 1000 FPS
Max: 4.7 GR @ 1100 FPS
I use a taper crimp die for all cases and the crimp was very firm.
Two guns were used for this test.
1: Beretta 8000 Cougar.
2. Beretta Storm Carbine.
It is ease to tell the difference in which cases were fired in which gun, the Cougar has a definite doughnut shape around the indentation of the firing pin.
Since I don’t own a Chronograph I have no data to prove the differences in velocity, I can only describe the differences that I felt and saw.
Pressure: First off there were no pressure differences that I could tell in the primers after they were fired. I took some of these to work Friday and use a very high powered microscope and really can’t tell any difference.
Shooting: This is where the difference was noticeable.