The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old March 26, 2009, 09:56 PM   #1
N00b_Shooter

Leupold Vs Nightforce Scopes

Hey, I'm looking at buying either a Nightforce NXS 5.5-22x50 or a Leupold Mark 4 6.5-20x50. These are the only 2 scopes i want and the only thing I am willing to change is the magnification and objective lense size.

Out of those two which one do you guys think is better?

Also what magnification would you guys use for shooting at 500-1000 Yards?

It's to go on a Rem 700P in .308

I know I'm still new to shooting but this scope will last a long time and i just got some money to burn on it so i dont really care if its a stupid buy I'm still going to get it.
Old March 26, 2009, 10:01 PM   #2
precision_shooter

I don't think you can go wrong with either. Me personally I would go with the Leupold because of the excellent warranty. Especially when spending the kind of money you are going to be spending.
"Laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes...Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man." - Thomas Jefferson, 1776
Old March 26, 2009, 10:01 PM   #3
Blackops_2

I think nightforce is better. Now i know you said those are the only two scopes you want. But zeiss is over leupold and is cheaper than nightforce but i think nightforce is top of the line.
Old March 26, 2009, 10:04 PM   #4
nimbleVagrant

Nightforce is generally considered a step above the Leupold. Which, of course, isn't to say the Leupy's aren't great, the Nightforce are just that much better. 22x will be more than enough for 500-1000 yards. I know you're set on those two, but I gotta ask, did you look at all at the US Optics line?
Old March 26, 2009, 10:40 PM   #5
Zak Smith