The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old March 24, 2009, 11:09 PM   #1
Neil2470

CZ-USA O/U Woodcock

I recently posted about wanting to buy a new shotgun for skeet and clay shooting. I am a beginner so I don't want to spend a fortune. If I get hooked I will dropped serious money in the future but for now my price range is $900. Looking around I found the CZ-USA O/U Woodcock in 12ga. with a 28 inch barrel and I really liked the way it looked and the specs it offered. Has anyone bought or shot this gun? With the research I have done I feel it would make a good shotgun for me considering what I will be using it for.

Any Opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks all
Old March 24, 2009, 11:14 PM   #2
MatchKingMK

Are you set on a double? There are alot of very nice semis out there for less money. You can get a very fine shooting used Beretta AL390 Silver Mallard for around 500 or so. That's what I use for skeet and trap and I find it to be one of the most natural pointing shotguns I have ever held.

Just my oppinion
Old March 24, 2009, 11:22 PM   #3
Neil2470

I'm not set on a double and am actually looking at semi's as well its just that when I think O/U I thinks skeet shooting. I don't hunt so skeet and clay shooting would really be the only thing I would use it for. I am open to suggestions but I want one that is mainly for skeet shooting at a lower price point
Old March 24, 2009, 11:35 PM   #4
MatchKingMK

My issue with the CZ shotguns is they are mad in Turkey and have some issues I looked a 20ga a while back and after reading online about em decided against it. If you can find on check out the AL390 they made several models but the Silver/Gold Mallard have beautiful wood and a load of chokes that fit em. You won't be sorry.
Old March 24, 2009, 11:40 PM   #5
MatchKingMK