The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old March 20, 2009, 11:23 PM   #1
hirschlaw

.50 BMG options - Reviews and Experience

In anticipation of gun control measures that are sure to come from the current Congress and President, I am in the process of acquiring some firearms that are likely to fall under a ban. One of those is the .50 BMG. Of course, this is not just an investment and I expect to derive quite a lot of enjoyment from these acquisitions.

I have no experience with the .50 BMG. I see a lot of options and would like to hear the opinions of people who are knowledgable in this area.

Some of the choices include:

Barrett (M107/82A1, M95, M99)
Ferrett
Bushmaster
Armalite
Anzio
Safety Harbor
Vulcan
Steyr
Serbu
ALS
EDM
McMillan

Anything you have to say is appreciated but in particular, I would like to know about
1) Safety and Reliability;
2) Durability;
3) Recoil reduction; and,
4) Value in relation to other options

Thank you in advance,

David
Old March 21, 2009, 03:33 AM   #2
wayne in boca

Serbu BFG50.
Built like a tank.Will last 100 years.
Accurate as all get-out.Reliable as an axe.Durable as an anvil.
An 18 year old girl shot mine.Low recoil.
Excellent value.
Old March 21, 2009, 10:50 AM   #3
Chipperman

I have a Ferret 50 AR upper.
(I have yet to fire it )
I still need to get a scope and rings before I fire it.
It's very well made, though.
Old March 21, 2009, 03:40 PM   #4
50 shooter

Starting from the top.
Barrett's will always hold their value due to name recognition. The M82 isn't that accurate, at best it's a 2 MOA rifle (some have achieved better but that's the norm) because of it's design. The M99 is probably the best bet out of all the Barrett's as the mag fed M95 adds about 2K to the price.