The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old January 7, 2009, 12:34 AM   #1
Yellowfin

Want a 10mm: Glock 20 vs S&W 1006

I've been rolling this around in my head for a couple years now and saw a couple offers that got the fires stoked again. I would like a good fishing and woods gun, nice for dealing with mountain lions (where I am it's actually a concern) , bears on a rare occasion, hogs with an attitude, and of course the 2 legged vermin like meth heads--put those together and the fact that I am not a revolver man and that pretty much spells out 10mm. Ok, yeah yeah yeah it's gotta be a .44 for grizzlies... .30-06 is for that when I'm near enough to that, thank you very much. 10mm with the hot stuff is close to a .41, and when it all comes down to it I'm less of a goof with an autoloader than a wheelgun. Dunno why, but inches matter more than ft/lbs when it comes to taking care of business.

Ordinarily I'm not a Glock fan: I shoot them well but just never have liked how they look and how blocky across the top they are. No sexy curves, no attractive finish, no rarity, no mystique, just a monkey wrench that spits out bullets. But considering this is a pure function gun it seems a Glock 20 would do the job just nice and I got a good look at one in the shop today. And for $525 used that just ain't a bad deal no matter how you slice it and my favorite store has one under the glass I ogled at for 20 minutes today. Somehow the G20 seems sexier to me than any of its siblings--maybe it's the power, the proportions, or both. It won't rust easy, carries light, and if I'm dealing with 2 legged problems having 15 in the mag (ok, 10 since I'm in the PRK, but I won't be here forever and even 10 is nice) gives a touch extra confidence when faced with that matter. I'd probably work it into the regular carry lineup if I had it since it's light and...and...it's a freakin pocket howitzer.