The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old December 7, 2008, 01:10 PM   #1
sandbag

.44 Special/.44-40

Can a .44 Special cartridge be fired from a .44-40 revolver?Would it be safe?Would it fit the chamber?
Old December 7, 2008, 01:15 PM   #2
sandbag

Empty Chamber

I've been shooting and carrying handguns for 44 years and I never thought of this til now.I have a Colt and a USFA SAA-I keep an empty chamber under the hammer on both if I have them loaded off the range.I also have a slew of S&W double action revolvers with the firing pin integral with the hammer,yet I have never heard such a warning applied to double actions.I routinely carry them with fully loaded chambers.What am I missing here?
Old December 7, 2008, 01:20 PM   #3
SIGSHR

No. The 44-40 is a tapered or botlenecked cartridge, the 44 Special is a straight walled cartridge, a 44 Special could probably fit and be fired, but the case would split, might be some problem with gas blowback, the case backing out and tying up the action. I'm sure our CAS shooters will have something to say about this.
Old December 7, 2008, 01:27 PM   #4
Webleymkv

Quote:
I've been shooting and carrying handguns for 44 years and I never thought of this til now.I have a Colt and a USFA SAA-I keep an empty chamber under the hammer on both if I have them loaded off the range.I also have a slew of S&W double action revolvers with the firing pin integral with the hammer,yet I have never heard such a warning applied to double actions.I routinely carry them with fully loaded chambers.What am I missing here?