The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old November 28, 2008, 08:10 AM   #1
rsh32crew

Decocking a Glock 23

Hello All,

I am new to the pistol world and do not want to be uneducated with my pistol. I have read here that there are 3 internal safety mechanisms for the Glock 23. I am wondering since there is no "decocker" what is the proper method of decocking the glock if there is any issue.

I know to remove the magazine, but what is the proper method upon this for removing a jammed round? Also, is it possible to decock the pistol with a round in the chamber?

Thanks,
Old November 28, 2008, 08:17 AM   #2
Tamara
Moderator Emeritus

Since a Glock is never completely "cocked", there is no method of "de-cocking" one.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsh32crew
I know to remove the magazine, but what is the proper method upon this for removing a jammed round?
Cycle the slide. Also, when unloading the gun for storage or cleaning, make sure to remove the magazine first, then cycle the slide to remove the round in the chamber.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsh32crew
Also, is it possible to decock the pistol with a round in the chamber?
No.
Old November 28, 2008, 08:21 AM   #3
trublu

Hi. Sounds like you need some training.

No you do not decock the pistol. There are only 3 controls - the mag release, the slide/slide stop and the trigger. The pistol can only fire when the trigger is pulled - that is the 3 safeties you are talking about.

To prove the weapon is clear, firstly make sure you are pointing it in a safe direction, remove the magazine with the mag release, pull and lock the slide back to eject the round in the chamber. You can now check that the magazine is out and there is no round in the chamber. The weapon is now safe to pass to others or to store.

To load, insert a magazine and release the slide lock to let the slide move forward and chamber a round. Pulling the trigger will fire a round.