The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old October 2, 2008, 07:47 PM   #1
cchardwick

Marlin 1895 Lever Action Black Powder?

Hi, I'm new to the whole black powder thing, but does anyone know if I can load my 45-70 ammo with black powder to shoot in my Marlin 1895 lever action rifle? I know the 45-70 was originally desinged for using black powder.

Old October 2, 2008, 07:55 PM   #2
darkgael

BP in a Marlin

Can you? Yes, you can. Will they be accurate? Yes, they will if assembled properly. Will the gun get dirty? Yes, it will...and that's the turn off for many shooters.
I used to load BP into .38/357 cases to shoot in a little Rossi carbine. Just wanted to see how they worked (They worked, once I figured out how to load the cartridges properly). Clean up, especially compared to a muzzleloader or even to a BP revolver was somewhat of a chore.
The gun doesn't easily breakdown and so you have to be very thorough about cleaning and drying.
Pete
Old October 2, 2008, 07:56 PM   #3
Raider2000

I would think it'd be fine to shoot .45-70 with Black Powder & lead projectiles through it, just be sure to use a good natural lube on the bullets like SPG or some home made stuff like 50/50 Bees Wax & Crisco so to keep the fouling down & soft.

To clean it I'd do what I do with all my C&B Revolvers.
Take the wood off, open the action, & then place the action breach first into a bucket of hot soapy water, run a patch & maybe a brush through the bore like you would with a muzzleloader to clean the fouling out of the barrel, then once out of the water use WD-40 to displace the water & what soot may be in the action & then oil the action where you can get it into it & let it sit for a bit then wipe it down & reassemble the wood to the rifle.

I'd only fully strip the rifle once every 6-12 months.