The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old August 5, 2008, 05:47 PM   #1
Buzzard Bait

Hornady Light Magnum 243 round

Has anyone used the Hornady 243 light magnum round? The specks look impressive I wonder what the accuracy is like? I guess it is using some of the same high quality components I/we already are using in our reloading.

Buzzard Bait
Old August 5, 2008, 05:51 PM   #2
tyrajam

I REALLY want to talk to someone who has shot any light magnum rounds over a crono. Most of these high energy rounds use special mixtures of powders that normal handloaders like myself can't produce. But their published data is usually wildly optimistic, to put it mildly.
Old August 5, 2008, 05:59 PM   #3
Buzzard Bait

ditto that

I should have listed that in my question does anyone have any chronograph numbers to support the velocity claims??????

Buzzard Bait
Old August 6, 2008, 09:20 AM   #4
Art Eatman
Staff Lead

I've no experience with the Hornady.

I've shot the Federal Premium High Energy 165-grain loads in my '06. The subjective feel of the recoil tended to be in accord with their claimed 3,150 ft/sec from a 26" barrel; my '06 is 26". Some email correspondence with an '06 guy in Australia included the datum that his chronograph and 26" '06 met the Federal claim.

I have read one brief squib in a gunzine that one of the Hornady Light Magnum loads did not chronograph as advertised, but it's quite possible that the gun had a shorter barrel. That WILL make a difference.

To add an FWIW, I have found that the Federal .243 load with the Sierra 85-grain HPBT groups as tightly as do my handloads; commonly inside 3/4 MOA and often around 1/2 MOA.

Just general info; might be of help...

Art
Old August 6, 2008, 10:35 AM   #5
Powder_Burn

I've had good experience with the 95gr SST on whitetails and manage about 1.25 MOA w/this ammo from a Kimber Montana. Here's what the recovered bullet looks like...