The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old July 20, 2008, 08:19 PM   #1
Lavid2002

Need help buying waterfowling stuff

Duck season is almost upon us fellas! And I have a few questions.
*My shotgun gets rusty....REALLY rusty. Is there something I can do to keep it from rusting up so bad? I am willing to drop fivety bucks on getting it re-finished with something REALLY rust resistant. The gun is only 210 so im not over doing it....How about one of those heat-shrink camo coatings? Would i slap one of those on for rust prevention? Any advice is appreciated
Ive tried steel wool for removal, takes off the rust. I use wd40 barricade, silicone, and gun grease and the rust still comes!
*What size shot do YOU prefer 2 or 3? Im wanting to go with three becase I will have more BBS but I also dont want to cripple myself in terms of effective range, I think ill go with threes. You?
*Duck call....Im new to calling, I can do it but theres some major room for improvement. Im ok at hail calls, drake mallard calls, but I need work on my feeder call. Whats a good call I can buy for under 30 bucks?

Thanks fellas!
-Dave
Old July 22, 2008, 06:12 PM   #2
Lavid2002

Anyone?

Reccomendations on the finish are GREATLY appreciated.
-Dave
Old July 22, 2008, 09:14 PM   #3
mikenbarb