The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old May 11, 2008, 06:54 PM   #1
Ballistics Student

Trajectory of .30-30 and basic ballistics

As a mathematical exercise, I am trying to calculate when a a 30-30 150 grain round will fall to the ground. Assume I am shooting perfectly level across a flat plain, with the rifle 70 inches above the ground.

I'm a beginning student in all this, and want to fully understand how wind, heat, altitude and other variables affect a bullet's trajectory. Any suggestions about books, videos, graphs, or other sources of info?

Online calculators can give me the numbers, but I want to really understand, and be able to visualize the bullet's arc as it's affected by wind, humidity, etc...

I'm specifically interested in doing the math for the 30-30, and figuring when it will hit the ground. Since most info out there is about hitting a target (not hitting the ground!) any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old May 11, 2008, 07:39 PM   #2
Ulrice

I highly recomend A-Square's book "Any Shot You Want". It is a handloading and rifle manual. It goes through basic handloading; interior, exterior, and terminal balistics; velocity and pressure interpretation; effects of change in temperature, barrel length, and bullet compoents; recoil; rifle and cartrige selection; and load info from .22 hornet all the way to .600 NE.
Old May 11, 2008, 08:01 PM   #3
Ballistics Student

Thanks for the reply.

"Any Shot You Want" gets good reviews on Amazon, but I can't leaf thru it at my local bookstore, so before I spend $35, can you check your copy and see if it has a specific section about the 30-30 round?

I'd appreciate it...
Old May 11, 2008, 08:25 PM   #4
Ulrice

It dosn't have balistic info spicifically for the 30-30 but it does explain how gravity, wind, and air affect the bullet.
Old May 11, 2008, 08:27 PM   #5
Swampghost