The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Lock and Load: Live Fire Exercises

Old May 1, 2008, 12:52 PM   #1
davlandrum

Range courtesy

I have never had a situation where others at the range wanted to try my guns, until I started shooting my .460 SW.

I was just curious how other feel about this and handle it. I will say everyone who has asked has been more than polite and would have accepted a refusal no problem. I had one guy shove $2 in my shirt pocket to cover the one round he shot. Other guy let me try out his TC in 30-30 in exchange.

I always hover and coach to make sure they are safe (cylinder gap, etc).

Just curious.

Thanks all

Ethics is knowing the difference between what you have a right to do and what is right to do. -Potter Stewart
Old May 1, 2008, 02:05 PM   #2
Wiskey_33

I've never been a fan of other people shooting my pistols. I had a guy plant a .357 slug in the ceiling at the range one time because he said he wasn't aware that it had a "hair trigger".

I told him to keep his finger off the trigger until he was ready for it to go off.
Old May 1, 2008, 02:21 PM   #3
Pahoo

Don't think that there has ever been a time that I have gone to the range and not shared something. I may ask permission to hold a firearm to see how it handles but I never ask if I can shoot it. There are times when it is offered and I may accept or decline. However, I have never had anyone ask if they can shoot what I have. If someone shows and interest, I may offer it to them on a limited basis. Today, I introduced two guys to shooting one of my side cockers. They had a great time. One important point that I have learned the hard way, is never to loan a gun to anyone.

Be Safe
Old May 1, 2008, 03:08 PM   #4
grymster2007

I've had people offer to let me shoot their guns and have accepted on occasion. And I don't have anything that is so dear to me I wouldn't let someone else try it out, as long as they demonstrate competence.