The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old April 24, 2008, 11:02 PM   #1
astark

How To Limp Wrist

I am really serious here guys, and I have tried, but can not seem to get the symptoms of limp wristing I have read about.

I am no expert shooter, and I do have a very well built 1911, but even with my wrist as limp as I think I can get it, the gun still fires consistently without failures.

So I guess I have two questions, how can I duplicate best this limp wristing phenomenon, and is it possible that it can not be achieved with some 1911s.
Old April 24, 2008, 11:08 PM   #2
Boris Bush

astark

I tried the same with my CZ-75 compact and could never get it to jam by limping it. Today a total newby did the limpwrist shuffle with my 100% pistol and he got it to jam 3 times in 14 shots.... Maybe you are just too strong maybe your muscle memory is too great for your mind to let you limp it too much, because for the life of me I can not get my CZ to jam, but I saw what I believed was impossible just a few hours ago. 3 stove pipes in a mere 14 rounds from a complete novice.

It can, does and will happen, It is more of a shooter error than a weapon malfunction. After today I am 100% positive on it...........
Old April 24, 2008, 11:09 PM   #3
croc4

Visit San francisco

;-)
Old April 25, 2008, 12:11 AM   #4
Curtis(USAF)

There is a certain apex in training where your muscle memory is so good, you have to try really hard to screw something up. Try bringing your pistol up with the sights uneven, (The barrel tilted up, or to the side) I bet you have a hard time doing it.