The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old April 10, 2008, 02:34 PM   #1
brockgl

What kind of knife set will I need to hunt?

I am brand new to hunting, and I want to buy a knife set that will allow me to do everything I need when it comes to field dressing. I want to get all the type of knives I will need for birds and large and small game. I plan to hunt rabbit, deer, turkey, and lots of other birds. Also squirrel, and other small game. Any suggestions on brands and types of knives that are 'must haves'?
Old April 10, 2008, 02:51 PM   #2
deanadell

I have found an original "Wyoming Knife" to be indispensable

http://www.wyomingknife.com/knives.htm

for anything smaller than deer, a good sharp single blade lockback. I personally use a Buck Squire.
Old April 10, 2008, 02:58 PM   #3
buck-hunter

This is all you need. Look at Outdoor Edge Game Processer Kit.
Old April 10, 2008, 03:07 PM   #4
W. C. Quantrill

Well, first of all forget about brands. What you need is quality. Quality is defined by the type of steel used in the blade, the heat treat, the resulting Rockwell hardness of the blade, and then more to the personal note, the blade shape.
The old standby steel by which all others are judged 440-C stainless. It is a high carbon, high chromium alloy steel that started the custom knife business. Other good quality steels following along this line are 154 CM and ATS-34. These are the same steel, one an American steel and the other a Japanese steel. Lately makers have swung to AUS-4, AUS-6, AND AUS-8. These are steels used by the "Brand name" knife makers, fairly good steels but suited to easy and fast machine manufacturing methods.