The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old April 4, 2008, 09:22 PM   #1
azn505

savage or marlin

I am going to buy a rifle in the next few weeks and have narrowed it down to rifles either savage or marlin xl7 rifle. I was wondering for your input as i am new to hunting and this will be my first hunting rifle. I will be hunting elk and deer in new mexico. I am either going to get the marlin which biggest caliber is 30-06 or a savage rifle. If i choose savage i will probably get 300 win. The new marlin prices at around 325 with a similiar accutrigger as the savages. I just dont think i can get a savage in 300 win with accutrigger for that price its hard to beat and the reviews have looked good on the new marlin rifle. heres the review link. I already bought my scope which is a 4x12x40 browning which i purchased for 190 which i thought was a good deal

http://www.gunblast.com/Marlin-XL7.htm
Old April 4, 2008, 09:39 PM   #2
TPAW

They are both good rifles. I don't think you would make a mistake by buying either one. Shoulder both and see what feels best. Then make a choice.
Old April 4, 2008, 09:41 PM   #3
jsr76

The new Marlin rifle is a total Savage rip-off. By that I mean EVERY feature on that rifle is Savage. Pull out the bolts and lookat them. There are only very minimal differences in the triggers with the Savage technology being better. Example? Savage has a 6 ounce target model. And the Marlin isn't free floated on the barrel which I would most likely quickly change. With that being said. It is a very good rifle in the reports. It ought to be, the line it is built after is as well. I would say to buy whichever one you want, they are almost identical. One recommendation. If you are new, buy the 30-06. It will do it all. The big magnum will too, but it isn't fun to practice with, and you need to enjoy practice. Accuracy trumps power, as long as you have enough power, and the 30-06 does.