The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 23, 2008, 01:52 AM   #1
Lavid2002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 6, 2007
Posts: 2,568
Stupid question about Milliradian dots

On the Super Sniper scopes, The 16x scope. What happens with the mil dots? The reticle is cut differently for the different magnification. So they have a different reticle for the 10x, the 16x and the 20x right?
If not this equation
Target size in yards X 1,000 Divided by # of mil dots needed to cover target
Would not work because the # of mil dots needed to cover ther target would change. If the magnification is greater obviously it would require less mil dots than usual to cover the target. So they have different reticles right? Please? haha I REALLY dont feel like adding another factor into the mathematic equation I just started into mil-dots a few days ago.
Thanks!
Dave
__________________
Math>Grammar
Lavid2002 is offline  
Old March 23, 2008, 08:17 PM   #2
Lavid2002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 6, 2007
Posts: 2,568
...

no one?
__________________
Math>Grammar
Lavid2002 is offline  
Old March 23, 2008, 08:35 PM   #3
nate45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 15, 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,746
I believe that on most scopes the mill dots are only accurate on a single power.

Here is what I learned from when I got a mil dot scope a couple of years ago.

http://www.alpharubicon.com/leo/mildot.htm

http://www.remingtonmilitary.com/art...a%20mil-dot%22

Hope these articles help.

I really like the mil dot system myself. I've done ome good long range shooting with my Rem 700 .308 using the mil dots.
__________________
"No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms."- Thomas Jefferson
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
(>_<)
nate45 is offline  
Old March 24, 2008, 11:12 AM   #4
Lavid2002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 6, 2007
Posts: 2,568
This scope is a single magnification

I know on variable power mil dot scopes the manufacturer lists the power ion wich the mil dots are accurate, but this scope is a single power, 16x.
__________________
Math>Grammar
Lavid2002 is offline  
Old March 24, 2008, 12:04 PM   #5
Zak Smith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 12, 1999
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,675
In a variable, a second focal plane scope will only accurately subtend the angles at one power setting (usually max). In a first focal plane scope, the reticle will always accurately subtend the angle specified. In a fixed power, it always has to be on since you can't adjust it.
__________________
Zak Smith . DEMIGOD LLC . THUNDER BEAST ARMS CORP . COLORADO MULTI-GUN
My PM inbox full? Send e-mail instead.
Zak Smith is offline  
Old March 24, 2008, 07:39 PM   #6
Lavid2002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 6, 2007
Posts: 2,568
Thanks!

: D Thanks bud
__________________
Math>Grammar
Lavid2002 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06605 seconds with 7 queries