The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old March 17, 2008, 08:14 PM   #1
BIGR

Any Good Deer Hunting In Indiana

I know a guy around Terre Haute, IN. that says he has some good whitetail deer hunting. I was just wondering if that area is good for big bucks. If I drive hundreds of miles to get there I want a chance at a good buck. It would not be a trip just for doe meat. Any of you guys got any good info and pointers about that area. I am a non resident and would have to get the 150 dollar license I think.
Old March 18, 2008, 10:37 AM   #2
tyrajam

It might be worth it. I hunt mostly the southern part of Indiana and there is getting to be fantastic deer hunting down there, one of my hunting buddies shot a 187 gross near columbus this last season. The Terre Haute area also has some good hunting, my friend grew up hunting Park county near there and his dad has a couple of 150's and a 190. If your buddy has private land it might be worth it. If he is taking you to a public FWA in the area, might not be worth it. He should be able to send you some pics, or have him put out a trailcam this summer to see if its really as good as he says.
Old March 18, 2008, 03:29 PM   #3
BIGR

He has access to alot of private land. It sounds real good.
Old March 18, 2008, 04:40 PM   #4
Six Shooter Steve

Jump at the chance. If you can hunt private land down there you should have some luck. With corn and beans everywhere, our bucks have some decent body size, and with the 1 buck rule their antler potential is getting better every year, been some mighty nice 150 to 180 bucks from down south the last few years.

{There is no problem that can't be solved by the use of high explosives}
Old March 18, 2008, 07:02 PM   #5
bclark1

I drive through Indiana every other month or so, and boy, there are some solid deer herds on the fields off the highways. Just off my drive-through observation, it seems like a great state for whitetail hunting.