The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old February 25, 2008, 04:42 PM   #1
clubtc05

Pistol or Revolver

hey guys on the post where people posted there pics of guns...I think ives seen more revolvers than pistols..why is that.... just curious why more people like revolvers over pistols. If this is a stupid question excuse me...im pretty new to firearms,etc..
Old February 25, 2008, 04:54 PM   #2
PointOneSeven

If the pistol wall / case at the local shops are any indication, I think people are more into the semi-autos than the revolvers. Both can be very easy on the eyes and functional at the same time.

But semiautos also have a tendancy to be black plastic these days. Not bagging on them, my next pistol is going to be a Glock 17 or 19. Not as photogenic though when it comes to the beauty contest.
Old February 25, 2008, 04:59 PM   #3
clubtc05

see i was thinking about getting a revolver for my first gun ever but then i thought it would be better off the get a pistol because of the capacity of ammo it holds but like the Raging Bull from Taurus looks BADASS!!!
Old February 25, 2008, 06:05 PM   #4
Elvishead

At the range, I see mostly semi's. The .357 with full loads usually wakes'em up.
Old February 25, 2008, 06:20 PM   #5
Johnc

As far as personal ownership goes, my ratio of semi auto's to revolvers is 5:1

Five semi auto's to one revolver that is.
Old February 25, 2008, 06:40 PM   #6
copenhagen

Revolvers = Reliability & Accuracy

Semi-Autos = High Capacity

Not saying semi's can't be reliable or accurate. Just saying as a rule, the more moving parts there are, the more chance there is of a malfunction, and the more likelyhood of a reduction in accuracy.