The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old February 4, 2008, 08:48 AM   #1
Super-Dave

Fail to fire ammunition...

Suppose I had a perfect running shotgun with no defects.

If I was shooting winchester, remington, federal or Fiocchi

How many Fail to Fire should I expect to get If I fired 1000 rounds?

I am gessing 50 is this about right?
Old February 4, 2008, 09:51 AM   #2
ebutler462

I have been shotgunning for over 50 years. I can't recall more than a half dozen FTFs in the thousands of rounds I have shot, all brands, mostly el cheapos, also, hundreds of expensive magnum loads. It is a very rare occurence. I don't think that I have had a misfire in 25-30 years.

Misfires, or FTFs are usually the gun's fault, not the ammos. Ammo produced over my lifetime has been ultra reliable. FTFs begin when shooters don't keep their guns clean. The ammo is reliable but a dirty gun just might not hit the primer hard enough to ignite it.

I would expect no FTFs at all in 1000 rounds, or 10,000 rounds if the shooter maintains his gun.
Old February 4, 2008, 10:39 AM   #3
Gbro

I agree with ebutler

Most of my shooting is with 870's and i can think of 1 in 30 years. That one was on the bottom of the boat(duck hunting) for unknown time.
Now bulk .22 ammo (box of 500) i will see 10-15 miss fires. We had more than that yesterday at the range. 5 shooters sharing the box of bulk. I called it prior to starting the shoot. (2 buckmarks, 1 kimber w/.22lr top(numorous feed failures), 1 ruger mark III(no-miss fires), the other gun i forget.
The oil bottle was used to some success.
Old February 4, 2008, 11:20 AM   #4
classic095

FTOF