The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 10, 2007, 05:41 PM   #1
parr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 6, 2007
Posts: 5
reloading

I want to start reloading my shot brass, what equipment will I need to buy to do so?
parr is offline  
Old December 10, 2007, 05:47 PM   #2
fourrobert13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 28, 2005
Location: South West Ohio
Posts: 336
read the sticky at the top of the forum that says reloading equipment needed.
__________________
Be aware of yourself and everything around you.
fourrobert13 is offline  
Old December 10, 2007, 06:12 PM   #3
ShootingNut
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 27, 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,470
Basics

Reloading is a great hobby, plus you will save money depending on your caliber loads and amount of shooting you do.
I love it, started with Lee equipment, and with the help of many on this Forum have progressed to the point (I feel) of turning out some really good quality loads that work well in my handguns, and I can now depend on.
Again, I can't say enough about those on this Forum, that have so much experience, and are very willing and helpful. Personally, I say read the books and manuals, stay within the prescribed loading ranges (powder charges), BUT
really absorb all the help you will get on this Forum from some really nice experienced people!
ShootingNut is offline  
Old December 10, 2007, 07:20 PM   #4
CrustyFN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 4, 2006
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 2,258
Some helpful information for us would be what calibers do you plan on reloading, how many rounds do you need to load for each caliber per month, what is your budget and how much time do you have to devote to reloading.
Rusty
__________________
I don't ever remember being absent minded.
CrustyFN is offline  
Old December 10, 2007, 07:23 PM   #5
CrustyFN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 4, 2006
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 2,258
Here is another good read.http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=238214
Rusty
__________________
I don't ever remember being absent minded.
CrustyFN is offline  
Old December 11, 2007, 07:34 AM   #6
ShootingNut
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 27, 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,470
parr

If you open for ideas, I would highly recommend the folks at Kempf Gun Shop,
Sue will take good care of you. They offer a Lee Kit for under $150 , and some great upgrades. Me, I went with the Pro Powder upgrade, extra dies and turrets to have each caliber set and ready to load.
http://www.kempfgunshop.com/products.../KempfKit.html
Good Luck!
ShootingNut is offline  
Old December 11, 2007, 03:06 PM   #7
CrustyFN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 4, 2006
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 2,258
I'm with ShootingNut. I also have a Lee Classic Turret and have been very happy with it. I shoot pistol and rifle competition and have no problem keeping up with my ammo needs. If I load for 1.5 to 2 hours a night I can have 1,000 rounds for Saturday.
Rusty
__________________
I don't ever remember being absent minded.
CrustyFN is offline  
Old December 11, 2007, 04:38 PM   #8
ShootingNut
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 27, 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,470
Rusty

You have always been much faster than I. Plus, I know you don't seem to get erratic swings in your powder drops, like I have to watch for.
ShootingNut is offline  
Old December 11, 2007, 08:06 PM   #9
CrustyFN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 4, 2006
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 2,258
What powders have you been using? I use Titegroup for 9mm, Bullseye for 38 spcl, W748 and H335 for 223. All those powders meter great in my Pro Auto Disk.
Rusty
__________________
I don't ever remember being absent minded.
CrustyFN is offline  
Old December 12, 2007, 08:15 AM   #10
ShootingNut
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 27, 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,470
Rusty

I also use Titegroup, for my 9mm, .38's and .357 Mags. Doesn't work in .40's, so there I use Accurate #5.
For whatever reason, my short drops show up in the 9mm loads, and sometimes in the .38's. I am catching the little devils now, by lighting the batch before corking them up. Still using my Classic Turret as a single stage, which I really don't mind, as I can keep a closer eye on what I'm turning out.
I never have this problem with the .40's and the A#5 powder, using both a disk for 180 gr bullet, and the charge bar for 155 gr.
I load only lead, as our indoor range restricts one to using lead only. I guess the cardboard stop can't handle any jacketed rounds.
ShootingNut is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07466 seconds with 7 queries