The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 15, 2007, 02:45 PM   #1
saint
Junior Member
 
Join Date: October 15, 2007
Posts: 2
Scope Mounts for a Savage MKII

I recently purchased a Leupold VXIII 1.75X6-32 for my Savage MKII GL .22 rimfire rifle. I am trying to find which scope mount I can use for this combination. I went on Leupold's website but my gun doesn't show up. I emailed their cutomer service but they were also no help. I am trying to stay away from weaver if at all possible. I tried one of Leupolds medium height dovetail mounts but it seems that the curvature of the barrel does not allow me to use these mounts. I also tried Burris online but again my gun does not show up to try and match a mount.

Is there anywhere esle online I can look to try and find a mount for this combination, or does anyone out there know which mount I might be able to use?


Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Stephen
saint is offline  
Old October 15, 2007, 06:25 PM   #2
kart racer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 23, 2005
Posts: 175
check with bkl.
kart racer is offline  
Old October 17, 2007, 02:15 AM   #3
tINY
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 26, 2005
Location: Orygun
Posts: 2,589


The bases are cut too narrow to use the Burris Z-rings. The Weaver grand-slam (split ring, not base and strap) rings are probably fine. That, or a set of Warne rings with the vertical split.



-tINY

tINY is offline  
Old October 17, 2007, 10:10 AM   #4
Cowart
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 15, 2007
Posts: 247
I note that some, but not all, of the MK IIs are sold with a set of scope bases installed. Does your rifle have 4 holes drilled & tapped in the top of the receiver? If so, you should be able to order a set of those bases. The number there is (413)568-7001.
Cowart is offline  
Old October 17, 2007, 05:56 PM   #5
saint
Junior Member
 
Join Date: October 15, 2007
Posts: 2
Cowart, my MKII is not drilled and tapped for a scope. It only has the 3/8 dovetail groove for scope mounting. The issue I am having is that most of the mounts do not accept the higher arch that the gun has to fit the mounts into the dovetail.
saint is offline  
Old October 18, 2007, 04:55 PM   #6
tINY
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 26, 2005
Location: Orygun
Posts: 2,589


Can you post a picture? Sounds like a file and some careful hand-work will get the thing to fit....



-tINY

tINY is offline  
Old October 18, 2007, 09:59 PM   #7
Holling
Junior Member
 
Join Date: August 5, 2007
Posts: 2
I bought some 1" rings at Walmart. Work's great.
Holling is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07455 seconds with 7 queries