The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 6, 2007, 11:34 PM   #1
drewmohl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: September 6, 2007
Posts: 1
Is it ok to shoot a shotgun with the choke tube out.

I have a remington 870 with a .:MOD:. choke in it.....is it ok to take it out and and fire the gun with out a choke in it.
drewmohl is offline  
Old September 6, 2007, 11:48 PM   #2
TexIndian
Member
 
Join Date: July 16, 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 32
Basically, no. That will damage your threads and you'll be in for a repair job if you ever want to use chokes again. That should be covered in bold type in your owner's manual.
__________________
John
TexIndian is offline  
Old September 7, 2007, 04:24 AM   #3
b.thomas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 8, 2006
Posts: 324
A couple of times?..............probably not but allot then yes.
Remington factory chokes are only about $15-20 bucks a shot so why take a chance of screwing up your barrel threads?
b.thomas is offline  
Old September 7, 2007, 11:22 AM   #4
wolverine350
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 27, 2006
Location: ponca city ok
Posts: 746
Don't do it
__________________
CVA Kodiak Magnum .50 cal
Marlin 981T 22LR Bolt Action
Remington 770 Bolt Action 270
Thompson Center Encore 243
wolverine350 is offline  
Old September 7, 2007, 12:10 PM   #5
JWT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 16, 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3,122
Only if you want to buy a new barrel or continue to shoot it without choke tubes. You'll ruin the threads if you shoot without a tube. I won't even run a rod through my guns without a tube in them. If I soak the tube to get the burned wadding off I'll put it back in the gun before cleaning the barrell. Barrels are expensive, tubes aren't (except for the high end Brileys etc.)
JWT is offline  
Old September 7, 2007, 07:42 PM   #6
banditt007
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 19, 2006
Posts: 692
in an emergency sure you can shoot it like that. but although i dont think its dangerous, it will munch on the threads for the choke and ruin them.
banditt007 is offline  
Old September 8, 2007, 10:48 PM   #7
Scoupe
Member
 
Join Date: August 3, 2007
Location: Mid America
Posts: 15
Lead down the pipe without tubes isn't going to destroy the threads immediately, if ever. Takes about one shot of steel or bismuth though.
Scoupe is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06648 seconds with 7 queries