The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Thread Tools
Old September 6, 2007, 11:34 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: September 6, 2007
Posts: 1
Is it ok to shoot a shotgun with the choke tube out.

I have a remington 870 with a .:MOD:. choke in it ok to take it out and and fire the gun with out a choke in it.
drewmohl is offline  
Old September 6, 2007, 11:48 PM   #2
Join Date: July 16, 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 32
Basically, no. That will damage your threads and you'll be in for a repair job if you ever want to use chokes again. That should be covered in bold type in your owner's manual.
TexIndian is offline  
Old September 7, 2007, 04:24 AM   #3
Senior Member
Join Date: October 8, 2006
Posts: 332
A couple of times?..............probably not but allot then yes.
Remington factory chokes are only about $15-20 bucks a shot so why take a chance of screwing up your barrel threads?
b.thomas is offline  
Old September 7, 2007, 11:22 AM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: November 27, 2006
Location: ponca city ok
Posts: 746
Don't do it
CVA Kodiak Magnum .50 cal
Marlin 981T 22LR Bolt Action
Remington 770 Bolt Action 270
Thompson Center Encore 243
wolverine350 is offline  
Old September 7, 2007, 12:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
Join Date: March 16, 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3,324
Only if you want to buy a new barrel or continue to shoot it without choke tubes. You'll ruin the threads if you shoot without a tube. I won't even run a rod through my guns without a tube in them. If I soak the tube to get the burned wadding off I'll put it back in the gun before cleaning the barrell. Barrels are expensive, tubes aren't (except for the high end Brileys etc.)
JWT is offline  
Old September 7, 2007, 07:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
Join Date: March 19, 2006
Posts: 693
in an emergency sure you can shoot it like that. but although i dont think its dangerous, it will munch on the threads for the choke and ruin them.
banditt007 is offline  
Old September 8, 2007, 10:48 PM   #7
Join Date: August 3, 2007
Location: Mid America
Posts: 15
Lead down the pipe without tubes isn't going to destroy the threads immediately, if ever. Takes about one shot of steel or bismuth though.
Scoupe is offline  

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2015 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent:
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07067 seconds with 7 queries