The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 17, 2007, 05:45 PM   #1
John in AR

Extremely lightweight revolver bullets

Being my first post here, I’m hoping to avoid giving the impression that I’m a whack or juvenile, just due to the subject matter. I’ve been reloading since 1991 and am comfortable with it, but am entering a new area that I was hoping someone may have tried before me.

I’ve done a little searching here on extremely light-bullet handgun loads, and found some discussion of the old Thunderzaps, as well as the “Nylatron” bullets. (That was a new one on me.) These are similar in concept to what I’m in the process of trying.

Sometime back in the 70’s there was a load called the “SWAT” iirc. This was back around when the Hydrashok was the “Hydrashok Scorpion”; an oddball, low-velocity .38-only load. I may be wrong on the name, but I believe ‘SWAT’ was it, and I remember reading about them and the Hydrashok Scorpion at roughly the same time.

It was basically a bullet jacket filled with epoxy rather than lead; giving a much lighter projectile and accordingly higher velocity with very little pressure and very low penetration.

My situation is this. I’m experimenting with the same approach, in a Ruger SRH in .454 Casull. My favorite bullet in this caliber (and favorite factory load, for that matter) is Hornady’s 240-grain XTP-MAG. Factory loaded, it runs right at 2,000 fps. I handload it at around 1850-1900. For this caliber I use a single-stage press exclusively, weighing each charge individually, and measuring each finished cartridge individually.

With the lead melted out of the XTP-MAG jacket (ten seconds with a propane or mapp torch), and the jacket refilled with epoxy, all the bullets I’ve thus modified weigh in at 91 to 93 grains.