The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 6, 2007, 04:50 PM   #1
kjm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 24, 1999
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 1,871
Good beginner chronograph?

I need to get a chronograph. I don't need the latest and greatest, just something that will give me velocity. Are there any standouts in the field? I've always purchased Dillon, but their Chrony is $178. That's more than what I wanted in features and price. I am happy recording data with pencil and paper.

Maybe a better question is are there any reasons I should not go cheap? Are there any chrony's that just don't stand up well?

Thanks!
__________________
COME AND TAKE IT!!!
kjm is offline  
Old March 6, 2007, 05:01 PM   #2
mtnbkr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 1, 2000
Location: Manassas, Virginia
Posts: 911
I've had the Shooting Chrony basic model for the past few years and haven't had any issues with it. It was roughly $70 when I bought it. You can get a factory refurbished model even cheaper if they have any in stock.

Chris
mtnbkr is offline  
Old March 6, 2007, 05:05 PM   #3
Gbro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 20, 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,056
I have a prochrono, purchased through midway. about $100.00
I wonder some times if the deviation is my loads or the chrony.
I wonder if anyone has lined up a couple to compare the results??
__________________
Gbro
CGVS
For the message of the Cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, But to us who are being saved, It Is The Power Of God. 1Corinthians 1-18
Gbro is offline  
Old March 6, 2007, 05:41 PM   #4
rwilson452
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 10, 2004
Location: Tioga co. PA
Posts: 2,359
I don't know of any chrono that won't fit your basic needs. I bought a Chrony that I have upgraded over the years. I woulds suggest the Chrony Master series. The master costs a few dollars more than the straight model but I think it's money well spent. I would go for the Chrony alpha master. You can always upgrade should the mood strike. The all seem to last until you shoot it. Then it's done. they all tend to be that way. bullets just tend to do destructive things to a chronograph.
rwilson452 is offline  
Old March 6, 2007, 05:44 PM   #5
Abstract
Junior member
 
Join Date: December 25, 2006
Posts: 443
Shooting Chrony, F1; use wooden dowels, for obvious reasons, when attaching the skyscreens.
Abstract is offline  
Old March 6, 2007, 05:50 PM   #6
WCW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 6, 2007
Posts: 131
I've used the basic chrony for many years and I haven't had any problems with it whatsoever. They are about the cheapest on the market, and in comparison with other makes and models I have never seen much of a difference in recorded velocities. My advice is to go with the best you can afford at the moment, and preferably something that can at the least be upgraded in the future. As with all things related to reloading, you never know when the urge to update equipment will strike.
WCW is offline  
Old March 6, 2007, 08:05 PM   #7
jdmick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 28, 2006
Posts: 130
Quote:
Shooting Chrony, F1; use wooden dowels, for obvious reasons, when attaching the skyscreens.
Best advice I've seen in a while. I managed to hit a rod with my .38 snubbie this past weekend. It didn't work quite right after that.
jdmick is offline  
Old March 6, 2007, 09:33 PM   #8
amamnn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 13, 2006
Location: WA, the left armpit of the USA
Posts: 1,323
Shooting Chrony--master version of whatever model suits your needs best. I like the beta-- 6 strings of 10 works fine for load development/experimenting as far as I'm concerned. I had a very expensive Oheler at one time- never lend your cronograph to anyone--- I have to say that the chrony seems to work just as well. I also bought the software and such to hook it up to my computer and that's been a big help in record keeping and etc...
__________________
"If the enemy is in range, so are you." - Infantry Journal
amamnn is offline  
Old March 7, 2007, 01:45 AM   #9
arkie2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 3, 2006
Posts: 475
I got a chrony F1 and it's been great. 80 bucks at Midway but you'll have to add a tripod. I picked up a photographers tripod at Wally World for less than $30.

Last edited by arkie2; March 7, 2007 at 12:19 PM.
arkie2 is offline  
Old March 7, 2007, 07:31 AM   #10
Stargazer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 6, 2006
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 506
I just bought (2) Chrony's as my buddy shot my first one to death. It is the basic F1 model and I made a momentary switch so I could access the other data it has the ability to do. A tripod is in order for sure to hold it. The numbers can be read at a distance fairly well. The only bitch I have about it is I wish the switch could also reset the Chrony instead of having to get up and go physically turn it off then back on. Let us know what you end up with.
__________________
5.56mm, reach out and touch something. .458 SOCOM,reach out and knock something down.


M70 Web Page
Stargazer is offline  
Old March 7, 2007, 10:41 AM   #11
Fiddler 5.56
Member
 
Join Date: March 5, 2007
Posts: 27
Shooting Chrony: Had mine since they first came out. Got "winged" years ago by a .44 mag , sat in the Garage gathering dust for nine years. Took it out the other week , blew off the dust, new battery and still works just fine.
Fiddler 5.56 is offline  
Old March 7, 2007, 12:37 PM   #12
Daniel BOON
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 5, 2005
Location: Henderson NV
Posts: 360
to all of you chronograph users

in cluding my self. if you develop a load, and its accurate without blowing anything up, then why does the load need to be chronographed? I've never been able to answer that question. maybe somebody else will know?
Daniel BOON is offline  
Old March 7, 2007, 01:43 PM   #13
Fiddler 5.56
Member
 
Join Date: March 5, 2007
Posts: 27
Velocity / Trajectory ?
Fiddler 5.56 is offline  
Old March 7, 2007, 08:10 PM   #14
rwilson452
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 10, 2004
Location: Tioga co. PA
Posts: 2,359
The short answer is.... If you don't know the velocity you cannot compute drop.

another thing it will tell you is if that occational flyer was you or the load.

It will also help you determine if your loads are too hot.

If the only thing your doing is finding a good hunting load for your 30-06 and all your shots are 100 yards or less. you don't need a chronograph. If your using a varmint rifle on whistle dogs in excess of 400 yards you want a chronograph.

A local guy's longest goundhog kill is 1076 yards, do you think he chronographed those rounds before going afield?
rwilson452 is offline  
Old March 8, 2007, 03:38 AM   #15
Foxman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 13, 2005
Posts: 466
+1 on the prochrono I have had mine years works great.
Buddy who ranches cattle gives me the spills from AI which are thin plastic tubes, fit perfect and snap off with stray bullets leaving no damage.
http://www.competitionelectronics.com/
__________________
Better the man suspected of being a fool keep his mouth shut, than to open it and remove all doubt.
Foxman is offline  
Old March 8, 2007, 03:21 PM   #16
kjm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 24, 1999
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 1,871
I mainly need the chrony to make sure I'm not loading too hot. I have milsurp .45 powder that has no recipes for using in a .40. Therefore, I'll have to start small and work up. The rest of the velocity stuff is just nice to know to calculate bullet drop.

I love this place. There are no gun related questions that can't be answered here! Thanks for the help y'all.
__________________
COME AND TAKE IT!!!
kjm is offline  
Old March 8, 2007, 06:56 PM   #17
Scorch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 13, 2006
Location: Washington state
Posts: 11,408
Quote:
if you develop a load, and its accurate without blowing anything up, then why does the load need to be chronographed?
It's the thirst for knowledge! It's the quest for perfection! It's the darned marketers that tell us that the bullet companies who publish reloading manuals don't have chronographs! And it's one more toy towards that "he who dies with the most toys" thing!

Honestly, the main reason I use one is to make sure the velocity on my handloads is consistent. Other than that, I really don't care.
__________________
Never try to educate someone who resists knowledge at all costs.
But what do I know?
Summit Arms Services
Taylor Machine
Scorch is offline  
Old March 8, 2007, 08:14 PM   #18
Kato_Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 26, 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 212
I just ordered a pro chrono from midway so hopefully I made a good choice!!! I haven't seen any bad reviews on it yet!
Kato_Guy is offline  
Old March 8, 2007, 09:45 PM   #19
intruder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 26, 2006
Location: pa
Posts: 128
Crony gets my vote have one for years.
intruder is offline  
Old March 9, 2007, 12:28 AM   #20
cheygriz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 11, 2002
Location: high up in the rockies
Posts: 2,232
When discussing chronographs, there's only one name you need to remember:

OEHLER
__________________
If you think a mighty military force is expensive, wait 'til you see what a weak one costs.
cheygriz is offline  
Old March 9, 2007, 12:43 PM   #21
nbkky71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 13, 2005
Location: Davidson, NC
Posts: 416
Quote:
When discussing chronographs, there's only one name you need to remember: OEHLER
True... the Oehler 35/35P is the cat's meow.

However, Oehler suspended production a while ago. When you can find them, they're running upwards of $500 for a model 35/35P. They still service them though.

too rich for my blood.
nbkky71 is offline  
Old March 9, 2007, 12:49 PM   #22
rwilson452
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 10, 2004
Location: Tioga co. PA
Posts: 2,359
YOu might not recall but the question posed was not what is the gold standard the poster ask for an economy model. Oehler if it is anything, it is not the economy product.
rwilson452 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.12987 seconds with 7 queries