The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old December 9, 2006, 04:03 PM   #1
Bubsy

Pistol Ranges near PA/NJ Border

I'm a NYC resident and currently in month 2 of what I've been told is usually a 6 month process to get a pistol permit. (The application has been submitted to the NYPD, they are currently doing a background check and my "interview" should be sometime in late January). Once I get the permit, I've been told that I have 30 days to select and purchase a pistol, which is not that much time to find the right pistol. I'm planning to use the pistol for target practice and I would think that I would need to select one that best fits my hand and that I feel comfortable and confident using. This will be my first gun. I've been told that there are pistol ranges in PA, just over the NJ/PA border that allow people to try out various pistols that they provide at the range. However, in searching on the net, the only ranges I've found are in the Central Area of Pennsylvania. Are there ranges near the PA/NJ border that allow visitors to test out various pistols? I'm looking for one that might be convenient to Route 78, 80, or 22 (ie around East Stroudsberg or the Poccono's / Delaware Water Gap areas).

Thanks,

Bob
Old December 9, 2006, 04:40 PM   #2
shaggy

Bob, try www.classicpistol.com

They're a little south of where you want to be (just north of Philly, a few miles from the NJ border), but only about 90 minutes from NYC. The range is very nice and well maintained, and they have plenty of guns (including full auto) to rent.
Old December 10, 2006, 01:12 AM   #3
Bubsy

Thanks

Thanks,