The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 28, 2006, 11:00 AM   #1
trey_hawkins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: October 15, 2006
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Posts: 12
Blank Firing: Full Auto?

is it possible/reccomended to fire a full auto with blanks?
trey_hawkins is offline  
Old October 28, 2006, 12:33 PM   #2
shaggy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 9, 2004
Posts: 1,519
Sure, its possible if you have a proper blank firing device.
shaggy is offline  
Old October 28, 2006, 12:40 PM   #3
Chuck Dye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 28, 2002
Location: Oregon-The wet side.
Posts: 834
Whether full-auto or semi, cycling an automatic generally requires some form of barrel restriction to build enough gas pressure in the action. Hollyweird is said to do this permanently by either welding in the restriction or using purpose-built replacement barrels. The military uses attachments. There is a restrictor for AK-47’s advertised in the current Shotgun News. I would guess that the needed device will be specific to both the model and the ammo.
__________________
Gee, I'd love to see your data!

Last edited by Chuck Dye; October 28, 2006 at 01:10 PM.
Chuck Dye is offline  
Old October 28, 2006, 07:35 PM   #4
Maser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 21, 2006
Location: Mysterious Cities of Gold
Posts: 920
It's better to just buy the "hollywood" style blank firing full auto guns because it would have to be a permanant thing if you wanted to make it so that your "real" full auto firearm can fire AND cycle blanks.
Maser is offline  
Old October 28, 2006, 07:50 PM   #5
Chuck Dye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 28, 2002
Location: Oregon-The wet side.
Posts: 834
Maser,

Some of us live where class III firearms are legal. Why would we buy a fake when a simple and relatively inexpensive appliance adapts the real thing?
__________________
Gee, I'd love to see your data!
Chuck Dye is offline  
Old October 28, 2006, 08:10 PM   #6
Maser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 21, 2006
Location: Mysterious Cities of Gold
Posts: 920
Unless your barrel is threaded then it's going to be a permenant thing.
Maser is offline  
Old October 28, 2006, 09:18 PM   #7
MisterPX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 25, 2006
Location: Amerika's Doyleland
Posts: 809
If you've got a perm. affixed FS/MB, you can still get a BFA on there in most cases.
MisterPX is offline  
Old October 28, 2006, 11:54 PM   #8
trey_hawkins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: October 15, 2006
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Posts: 12
i really dont want to do any permanent mods of that nature, but maser, where could one purchase these "hollywood full auto pistols" you speak of? id rather get one of those than mess up my gun. trey
trey_hawkins is offline  
Old October 29, 2006, 02:49 PM   #9
VUPDblue
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2005
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 1,978
Trey, what kind of firearm are you asking about? That would be very helpful for me to try and answer your question regarding firing blanks. There are inexpensive blank-firing adapters out there for lots and lots of different weapons that need no permanent modification.
__________________
Silencers have NEVER been illegal !
VUPDblue is offline  
Old October 29, 2006, 06:21 PM   #10
trey_hawkins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: October 15, 2006
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Posts: 12
i was lookin for a full auto blank firing glock 18, i cant get a real one, so i got the full auto airsoft bb gun, i wanted one that shot blanks too, if there is one, if not, some kind of full auto blank handgun would be fine, just for fun,

thanx, trey
trey_hawkins is offline  
Old October 29, 2006, 09:57 PM   #11
VUPDblue
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2005
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 1,978
Judging by your questions in your previous posts in this thread, you made it seem like you were trying to fire blanks in a weapon you already own. Why didn't you just start out by asking where to find a blank firing replica instead of
Quote:
is it possible/reccomended to fire a full auto with blanks?
or
Quote:
i really dont want to do any permanent mods of that nature, but maser, where could one purchase these "hollywood full auto pistols" you speak of? id rather get one of those than mess up my gun.
Just kind of confusing to me, thats all...
__________________
Silencers have NEVER been illegal !
VUPDblue is offline  
Old November 30, 2006, 09:24 AM   #12
mxwelch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 17, 2006
Posts: 379
When I was in the Army we fired blanks out of M16A2s quite often. The above posters are correct (some of them) it takes a barrel restrictor to make them cycle. Most weapons don't require a threaded barrel. Some adapters "clamp" to the barrel, like the A2.

I quit doing this however as you won't believe the hell you'll go through trying to get them clean. The barrel restrictions mean that all the crud (unburned powder) goes right back into the action. Nothing like spending 2.5 hours trying to clean it enough to have the armorer accept it.
mxwelch is offline  
Old January 16, 2007, 08:51 PM   #13
44 AMP
Staff
 
Join Date: March 11, 2006
Location: Upper US
Posts: 11,221
Hollywood BFAs

The permantly installed blank firing adapters are used by Hollywood for the purpose of cycling the gun without having a visible blank adaptor.

This usually consists of threading inside the muzzle and installing a restrictor. gun looks normal, but cycles (semi/full auto) with blanks. GI guns use an externaly attached BFA (painted red/orange) for easy recognition. I have fired M16s and M60 with blanks, and yes, they do get completely full of gunk from the blank powder. A real PITA to clean.

Some semi auto pistols can have their barrels replaced easily, and would seem to lend themselves to this practice, but in reality it is difficult to get them to function, BFAs don't work really well on recoil operated guns.
__________________
All else being equal (and it almost never is) bigger bullets tend to work better.
44 AMP is offline  
Old January 16, 2007, 10:40 PM   #14
GalilARM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 6, 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 267
I did some training with the local police, and one of the trainers had a replacement barrel for his Glock that enables it to fire blanks. They werent very loud at all, and didnt sound that realistic, but the action worked just like a regular Glock. I dont know about finding a Full Auto Glock replica, but google Glock blank gun and there should be some matches, usually in the 100-150 dollar range.
GalilARM is offline  
Old January 17, 2007, 05:29 PM   #15
James K
Staff
 
Join Date: March 17, 1999
Posts: 19,286
I am not sure just what is involved, but some of those pellet guns will blow apart if fired with a blank. The idea that because there is no bullet there is no pressure just isn't true.

Jim
__________________
Jim K
James K is offline  
Old January 17, 2007, 06:08 PM   #16
dustinlowery
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 10, 2007
Location: ON Canada
Posts: 127
it depends wat type of gun also like the m240 will have problems with blanks because a blank is longer than a live round after its been fired and will not extract as easily
dustinlowery is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.09200 seconds with 7 queries