The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old October 1, 2006, 10:18 AM   #1
Soldatlamour

Ithaca SKB 200-E

My first post ! First - thank you ALL for the information found within this forum. Because of the fantastic advice from y'all, the two guns I've chosen have been wonderful.

I'm in the market for a SxS shotgun. I'm hearing/reading good things about the 200-E. There's a dealer in town that has one for $695. It's obvious that I'm a novice, but it appears that the shotgun is in very good shape. Is $695 a fair price.

Thank you,
ms
Old October 1, 2006, 09:33 PM   #2
skeeter1

I have an Ithaca/SKB 200E, for 30-odd years now, and it's been a dandy shotgun. Take a look on gunbroker.com or gunsamerica.com. The last time I looked they were going for the northside of $1K. Grab it while you can. I've put thousands of rounds through mine at the trap range, and it still locks up as firmly as the day I got it.

Good luck!
Old October 1, 2006, 10:34 PM   #3
Soldatlamour

Skeeter,

Thanks ! I had looked at gunbroker.com for some comps, and you're right - most prices were north of $1k. I just wanted someone's opinion as to the functionality of the gun. I don't have / won't have a gun case in my house, so I was hoping to find out if this is a "looker" or a "shooter."

I love this forum ! Again, thanks, ms
Old October 1, 2006, 11:14 PM   #4
skeeter1

ms--

My Ithaca/SKB 200E is both a shooter and a looker, but not a "safe queen." Fine walnut stocks, engraved and silver-plated receiver, gold-plated trigger, black-chromed barrels. What's not to like?

FWIW, I've also got an Ithaca/SKB model 100, not nearly as fancy, but it was used to taking down ducks, geese, and pheasants. Again, 100% reliable.

Like the Nike ad says, "Go for it.!"

Skeeter1
Old October 2, 2006, 02:22 PM   #5
Soldatlamour

Skeeter1 -