The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 24, 2000, 09:23 AM   #1
Steve Smith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 9, 1999
Posts: 4,131
I was working up some loads last night, and re-checked my scales after about 100 rds. and my heart sank. The scales were SEVERAL tenths of a grain off what I though they were! Oh, crap, I said, I've got to pull every one of these. Then I started troubleshooting, and found that my loads were fine, but the scales were very suseptible (sp?) to being jarred...even by my Dillon press operating on the same table! Has anyone else ran into that or am I just finding out something that everyone knew all along?
Steve Smith is offline  
Old May 24, 2000, 09:44 AM   #2
Bill Hebert
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 15, 1999
Posts: 180
My Lee scale is the same way. I even have to turn off the fan or it causes erratic readings. I want to get a real scale i.e. digital but I seem to spend all my $ buying guns. I bet you wouldn't have that problem with a Dillon. Is yours a beam or digital scale? Looks like PACT makes digitals for RCBS and they might have suggestions. I still reload with a single stage press, so I run a batch of 100 and measure powder as a single step. That way, vibration is not an issue. Good luck.
Bill Hebert is offline  
Old May 24, 2000, 01:32 PM   #3
Strayhorn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 9, 2000
Location: Central NC
Posts: 339
I've had this same problem and here's what I found - that static electricity occasionally causes bits of powder or even airborne dust to stick to the little cup that holds the powder. When I find what looks like an overcharge, I wipe the cup with a clean, soft cotton rag and then weigh it again. Nine times out of 10, it was the dust. Occasionally the powder measure will throw a slightly larger or smaller charge, but well within safety limits.

I also built, using wood dowels, a small "fence" around my scale on the workbench so it's always in the same place.

Regards,

Ken Strayhorn
Hillsborough NC
Strayhorn is offline  
Old May 24, 2000, 01:44 PM   #4
SKR
Member
 
Join Date: April 8, 2000
Posts: 68
Always keep your scales, regardless of the type and make on a separate level platform mounted to the wall just above your reloading bench. And mount it firmly.
SKR is offline  
Old May 24, 2000, 02:14 PM   #5
Steve Smith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 9, 1999
Posts: 4,131
Yup, I had to turn off the fan becaue the airflow was throwing off the measurement. Sure was hot last night without the fan! My Dillon powder measure doesn't deviate at all, thank goodness. If my Dillon changed as much as my scale does, I'd be in deep trouble! My RCBS scale is a cheapie balance beam. I started trying to get it figured out. I discovered that a tap from different directions would give different readings, even though the weights were still in place, and the scale chassis had not moved. I finally found a spot where 0 really was 0 several times in a row, and didn't touch a thing on it when measureing. trying to move the little tenth grain weight without disturbing the press is really difficult.
Steve Smith is offline  
Old May 24, 2000, 02:20 PM   #6
Steve Smith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 9, 1999
Posts: 4,131
Thanks, everyone for the ideas, I'l have to employ some better isolation measures to keep this from happening again.
Steve Smith is offline  
Old May 24, 2000, 03:04 PM   #7
Southla1
Member In Memoriam
 
Join Date: March 19, 2000
Location: Jeanerette, La. Near the
Posts: 1,999
Frontsight!, I do not know what kind of RCBS scale you own but I have the Ohaus 10-10 which is the same as the RCBS 10-10 (same manufacturer) and the only problems that I have had with it is, as "cuz" Bill Hebert has stated a fan will wreak havoc with it. I cured this by installing a 9000 btu window unit in my reloading shop where it does not blow on the bench. One other thing I ahve notice is that if I put it on a different spot on the bench I have to re-zero it but that is a minor problem.

------------------
Carlyle Hebert
Southla1 is offline  
Old May 25, 2000, 09:44 AM   #8
Bill Hebert
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 15, 1999
Posts: 180
Hey Southla1 - you're "moving on up" and air-conditioning your reloading area! Man are some people lucky. That will stop the mosquitoes from landing on the charge you're weighing and throwing things off....
Has anyone used/tried Pact digital scales? Their scales look exactly the same as RCBS except they are painted blue. They are about 1/2 to 3/4 the cost of RCBS. I'm ready for a digital and always want to save a buck. Heck, maybe one day I'll be able to air condition my shop.....
Bill Hebert is offline  
Old May 25, 2000, 02:16 PM   #9
Paul B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 28, 1999
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,703
Frontsight. Try reloading in my shed. it got to 105 yesterday in mine, and that is with the fan.
"Shore is hawt in Arizona."
Paul B.
Paul B. is offline  
Old May 26, 2000, 12:46 PM   #10
Southla1
Member In Memoriam
 
Join Date: March 19, 2000
Location: Jeanerette, La. Near the
Posts: 1,999
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bill Hebert:
Hey Southla1 - you're "moving on up" and air-conditioning your reloading area! Man are some people lucky.[/quote]

Well see "cuz" it was like this.......it was a bribe.....plus some major BS. I told the old lady that our freezers would run more efficently if the temp in the shop were cooler...well she bought into it .......kinda. She then tells me OK go get the AC but only if you get a small TV to put in there too so I don't have to hear you cry with dispair every time the Saints or LSU lose a ball game. Well I tell her I can't do that because I will be in and out the house heading for the fridge for food and that "yellow soda pop with the foam on top" all the time. So she says "ok ok go get a refigrator and put it in there too, and that way you wont have nightcrawlers in our firdge, along with all the food, you can put them out there too".

Carlyle Hebert

[This message has been edited by Southla1 (edited May 26, 2000).]

[This message has been edited by Southla1 (edited May 26, 2000).]
Southla1 is offline  
Old May 26, 2000, 11:43 PM   #11
Guy B. Meredith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 29, 1999
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 1,578
Frontsight!,

I am new to the game, so check this out and see if it is valid.

When setting up to weigh charges from the measure, balance the scale to zero then gently remove the pan. This causes the end of the beam to ground out and moving the weights should not bother the scale.

Set the measure, throw a charge, put it in the pan and gently place the pan on the scale. This way the beam is not in a delicate position until actually weighing.

If the beam settles out to zero, okay. If not, then remove and empty the pan, adjust the measure for the next try and repeat.

I have tried this and every so often put the weights back to zero and place the empty pan on the scale. It very consistently settles back to zero.
Guy B. Meredith is offline  
Old May 27, 2000, 07:57 AM   #12
dundee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 6, 1998
Location: mytown,mi,usa
Posts: 162
I have an older Pact digital scale, 1997 ? that I like. Before it I had a Pacific and a RCBS scale (balance beam types). I too had a problem with both scales that they would not return to the same weight.
The Pact is ok but the way I use it probably is not the best. since it is a battery operated model it has an auto turn off feature. I'm sure this saves on battery life but I always worry about when it turns back on if it is still calibrated ok. I wrote the weight of the alum pan on the side of the scale box '121.3gr' and when the scale is turned back on I just check the weight of the pan. If the pan is +- .1 gr of the 121.3 then I go ahead and use it with out recalibrating.
dundee is offline  
Old May 28, 2000, 12:13 AM   #13
Steve Smith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 9, 1999
Posts: 4,131
It seems like I can tap the pointer end of the beam and get one measurement, and the tap the other (blunt) end of the beam and get another measurement. I'm having to be VERY careful about touching anything on the system. I think I finally got a handle on it, but I'm considering a digital scale for purchase within the year.
Steve Smith is offline  
Old May 28, 2000, 09:07 AM   #14
Southla1
Member In Memoriam
 
Join Date: March 19, 2000
Location: Jeanerette, La. Near the
Posts: 1,999
Frontsight!, exactly what type of RCBS scale are you using? Teh 10-10, 5-5, or what?

------------------
Carlyle Hebert
Southla1 is offline  
Old May 28, 2000, 11:42 AM   #15
The specialist
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 10, 2000
Location: boston,MA,USA
Posts: 237
I've got yhe 10-10 and had the same problem. What I did was throw a charge then zro the scale then weigh the charge. I did this ten times in a row exactly the same steps after getting the powder to throw what I thought was the correct charge. Pulling those bullets is a pain in the *%s. When I bought my scale the guy told me not to purchase the electronic scale. He said they were too delicate and he would'nt trust them. Deffinately will be buying a digital scale next.
The specialist is offline  
Old May 30, 2000, 05:53 PM   #16
Southla1
Member In Memoriam
 
Join Date: March 19, 2000
Location: Jeanerette, La. Near the
Posts: 1,999
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by The specialist:
I've got yhe 10-10 and had the same problem.[/quote]

This is so weird. I have used an Ohaus 10-10, which is the same as the RCBS (same manufacturer) ever since I dropped a full box of Sierra 190 grain Match Kings on my old Pacific scale. That sounded the death knell for the Pacific, and taught me not to leave the scale set up when not in use. That was at least 20 years ago. I have a set of check weights and have tested the 10-10 in every way possible and have never had a problem with it. I AM going to try that thing about tapping the end of the balance beam to see if that makes it go off, from its previous setting.


------------------
Carlyle Hebert

[This message has been edited by Southla1 (edited June 01, 2000).]
Southla1 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.10108 seconds with 9 queries