The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 14, 1999, 03:50 PM   #1
Theo

I'm just starting out (getting a 650 for Christmas ) and I need to purchase power, primers, and bullets. About 80% of my shooting is with a Kimber Compact 45 and I need a general purpose round for IDPA, plinking, and range use. I'm assuming I'll need to go with a faster burning power due to the shorter barrel, but I don't want anything too hot, just clean and accurate.
Old December 14, 1999, 05:43 PM   #2
Art Eatman
Staff Lead

Startin' out with the cheaper, plinker loads: Hard cast 185-grain or 200-grain semi-wadcutter bullets. Bullseye powder, as the roughly 4-grain loading gives lotsa loads for the money, although many others will work well. And anybody's large-pistol, non-magnum primers.

For IDPA, I don't know their requirements for any equivalent to IPSC's "Major" category. You might have some problems getting adequate velocity with the short barrel.

At a recent gunshow, I ran across a book which somebody has gone to a lot of trouble to put together. They went through a bunch of loading manuals put out by the various powder- and bullet-makers, and did a "one book, one cartridge" deal.

Loadbooks USA, Inc.
28405 Sand Canyon Road, Suite B
Canyon Country, California 91351
(805) 250-8502
FAX (850) 250-8493
Online ordering: http://www.loadbooks.com

I recommend it highly, as it saves buying a bunch of loading manuals which have data for guns you'll probably never own...

FWIW, Art

[This message has been edited by Art Eatman (edited December 14, 1999).]
Old December 14, 1999, 07:31 PM   #3
JoeHatley

My Colt Officer's ACP (3.5" barrel) shoots very well with 4.5 grains Bullseye and a 200 grain LSWC cast bullet.

For factory loads, I use the Cor-Bon 200 grain hollow point.

Both loads are accurate and reliable, with the right magazines.

Good Luck...

Joe
Old December 15, 1999, 12:11 AM   #4
Theo