The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old March 13, 2006, 04:42 PM   #1
rick12665

Shotgun or ? for shooting wild cats on my country property?

Gun Experts,

Please recommend a relatively quiet firearm for shooting wild cats that come on to my country property.

thank-you,
Rick
Old March 13, 2006, 04:55 PM   #2
Wisby

I'm not a gun expert but If I was gonna shoot Wild Cats and wanted to be quite about, I would use a .22 If you have bad eyesight and feel a Shotgun would be a better choice. .410's have been killing stuff for a long time within a decent range. I probally wouldn't go out past 20 yards with it though so I could use low brass shells, and a NEF Single shot would probally run you a grand total of 100 bucks

One more thing my buddy has a Beeman Airifle that I'm pretty sure would be able to stop a cat in it's tracks with a head shot. It is really quite and very accrute but the thing cost 700 bucks.
Old March 13, 2006, 05:02 PM   #3
mete

A 22 lr rifle with subsonic HPs.I use RWS. Very quiet, accurate, effective and even if he takes off it's fatal.
Old March 13, 2006, 05:26 PM   #4
rick12665

Guys, thanks for the firearm recommendation for the feral cat problem I have.

I forgot to mention is that the feral cats' owner lives right next door to me.

I need to have a firearm that is powerful enough so that once the cat has been shot it does not go back to its "home" next door to me.

thanks,
Rick
Old March 13, 2006, 05:33 PM   #5
Death from Afar

+1 Mete. Get a Ruger 10/22 and head shoot the ***** cats over bait. They wont go far.
Old March 13, 2006, 05:56 PM   #6
Wisby

Well thats a little different

I don't know anything about Cats but Racoons can be a problem sometimes.
Noramlly the local feed store has whats called a Humane Trap. You can catch Racoons in them and drive to the Forest and "Let them Go". The traps don't make noise that anyone would notice and work very well.