The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old November 25, 2005, 06:10 PM   #1
SrtDog

The Best Ankle Concealed Carry

Looking for everyones opinions for the best (and most compact) pistol for a concealed carry. The pistol is going to be carried on my ankle, and used as an "Oh Sh*t!" backup. I'm also looking for opinions on favorite calibers as well.

I'm leaning towards a Kel Tek P32 (32) or a Kel Tek P3AT (380).

I am a soldier, I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight.
- General George Patton Jr

If you're going through hell, keep going.
- Winston Churchill
Old November 25, 2005, 07:11 PM   #2
Te Anau

The only gun I ever ankle carry is my P32.I hardly notice it.
Old November 25, 2005, 07:48 PM   #3
Pistolenschutze

My own suggestion, Srt, would be the old reliable standby, an S&W J-frame .38 snubbie, preferably an Airweight 637. If you don't want a wheel gun, consider the Beretta 3032 in .32 auto. Excellent quality and most reliable handgun, and a double/single action instead that that loooooooong, heavy DAO trigger pull on the Kel Tecs.
Old November 26, 2005, 12:52 AM   #4
dickfunk

Check this out ----> http://p64.home.insightbb.com/
Old November 26, 2005, 01:10 AM   #5
Massan

Theres a new pistol by Tarus called the Warthog(?) and its pretty damn tiny. Might wanna find a store that lets you try it out or so.
Old November 26, 2005, 09:31 AM   #6
Javelin Man

ankle

I have carried my snubby, a .38 derringer, and my P32 on my ankle. Only the P32 was light enough to keep me from limping, walking funny, etc. 6.6 oz. vs. 14 for my derringer, or 20 for my S&W.

You'll want as little weight as possible. It's just like an ankle weight in training. I recommend the P32 or P3AT. Keep it clean! All guns around the ankle will pick up a lot of dirt.
Old November 26, 2005, 11:12 AM   #7
USP45usp