The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old October 15, 2005, 06:18 PM   #1
GunMac

Browning Hi Power vs. Beretta 92 fs

I am looking for my first gun and have it down to either the Hi Power Mark III and Beretta 92 with the vertec grip. The caliber will be 9 mm.

These guns are tied in my mind and was looking for some advice as to why I pick one over the other. The only negative I have heard is the hammer on the Hi Power pinches your hand. If this is a problem I would like to know about it.

Thanks,
Old October 15, 2005, 06:59 PM   #2
wayniac

Hello!
I've limited shooting experience with the Hi-Power, but it has always been very good to me. Hammer bite can usually be alleviated by getting the ring or 'commander' style hammer they install on the Hi-Power Practical. I too checked out the 92 Vertec, but found that the 'short trigger' just feels wrong. It breaks way past the point where my 92FS releases the hammer and I honestly thought the sales guy had handed me a broken pistol when I first checked it out. I've read that this can be fixed by installing a regular 92FS trigger, but Beretta hasn't confirmed that for me yet, so I would take that as an 'internet rumor'. After considering the same two pistols you're talking about, I chose a standard-issue 92FS (PIC) and have been nothing but happy with it over the last 3 year--and several thousand rounds. I honestly think you would be well armed with either, but I made my final decision on these three things: cheap, plentiful full-cap mags; double-action trigger; and the unbelievable ease of disassembly. Probably the best thing to do would be to find a range that will let you rent both guns, or borrow a friend's. That way, you'll know for sure which fits you best. Good luck and be safe.