The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 23, 2005, 03:40 PM   #1
VonFatman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 23, 2000
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 577
MagTech Brass Question

Has anyone had experience with their brass? I like their bullets in my .44 Mag but I've not tried the brass yet.

Thanks.

Bob
__________________
"Onward thru the Fog"
VonFatman is offline  
Old May 23, 2005, 07:06 PM   #2
Peter M. Eick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 3, 1999
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,877
I get mixed results. It does not seem as consistent as the other manufactures, but since it is the "bulk" ammo at my public range, I can get once fired brass for basically free. Given that I shoot the stuff.

All it all it is "OK".



ps: thanks again for the 8 3/8's!
__________________
10mm and 357sig, the best things to come along since the 38 super!
Peter M. Eick is offline  
Old May 23, 2005, 07:49 PM   #3
scottys1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 21, 2004
Posts: 310
I've shot their ammo in various calibers and I have a batch of .40 brass that is now on its third loading. No problems so far.
scottys1 is offline  
Old May 23, 2005, 07:49 PM   #4
HSMITH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 21, 2002
Posts: 2,019
Bob, I got a great deal on some in 44 mag, I've loaded some of it 6 times now and no problems at all. It seems to work as well as anything else I have.
HSMITH is offline  
Old May 23, 2005, 09:09 PM   #5
BigSlick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 25, 2005
Location: Texas of course
Posts: 277
Yesterday at the range, a fellow with a Thompson was running thru a case.

I picked up *all* the brass It cleaned up pretty well and tonight I loaded up a couple of hundred rounds.

No problems at all.

BigSlick
BigSlick is offline  
Old May 24, 2005, 05:48 PM   #6
Swamp Yankee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 26, 2000
Location: Northeastern Ct.
Posts: 1,013
Haven't tried their 44 Mag but have 0 problems with the small truckload of Magtech 9mm brass I've acquired.
If you have any reservations make up a few min loads and see what it looks like.
Take Care
Swamp Yankee is offline  
Old May 28, 2005, 04:36 PM   #7
VonFatman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 23, 2000
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 577
Thanks Gents!

I've been considering buying some of their brass (new/unfired). I don't shoot public ranges much anymore and thus I do not get to scavange brass like I used to do.

I have added some new calibers (.44 Special, 44 Magunum & 45 Colt) so I've been buying new brass.

I recently purchased some Starline brass from Grafs but was tempted to try the MagTech.

Next time I wil try the MagTech!

I appreciate everyone's time & replies.

Bob
__________________
"Onward thru the Fog"
VonFatman is offline  
Old May 31, 2005, 11:04 PM   #8
impact
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 8, 2005
Location: the great state of Texas
Posts: 854
I just loaded up 200rds of the magtech 44mag brass and it worked out pretty good in super blackhawk and bisley. I pick up all the magtech I can at the range in 45acp. Ive loaded thousands of rounds of the stuff with out any problems.
impact is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07248 seconds with 7 queries