The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 8, 2005, 04:15 PM   #1
ManChicken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 27, 2004
Posts: 14
Safe dehumidifer

I just recently got a Liberty safe (a Lincoln) and got a Goldenrod dehumidifier. Wondering what the best way to install it is, in the sense of the cord.

The safe is in a finished basement, sitting on carpet. I'm wondering, do you all drill a small hole in the side or back of the safe to run the cord out of, and how are you sealing it if so? My only other thought was to run it out one of the existing holes in the bottom where it was bolted to the pallette or where you would bolt it to the floor, but that might be a bad idea with the weight of the safe and the cord, even on carpet.. wouldn't want it to cut through somehow.

Just curious what everyone else has done.
ManChicken is offline  
Old May 8, 2005, 06:48 PM   #2
Frenchwrench
Member
 
Join Date: January 19, 2005
Location: Indiana but my land is in Colorado
Posts: 80
I asked the same question Saturday while looking at safes.The Champion Safe has small space at right rear corner(as you look in the door).You poke a screwdriver or awl through and run the cord,then mount the plug.It's under the carpeting.Yours may differ.
Frenchwrench is offline  
Old May 8, 2005, 06:52 PM   #3
BigBoreKindaGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 13, 2005
Posts: 175
A pound of cobalt chloride every three months or more depending on where one lives is the way to go. Better than a mechanical dehumidifier.
__________________
BigBoreKindaGuy
BigBoreKindaGuy is offline  
Old May 9, 2005, 07:57 AM   #4
johnbt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 6, 1999
Location: Richmond, Virginia USA
Posts: 6,004
There should be a hole near, within a foot anyway, the lower right corner of the back. I don't remember if mine was plugged, capped or just covered with carpeting, but I do remember needing to use a screwdriver to punch through the fireproofing.

I wouldn't use anything but a Golden Rod, unless I didn't have access to electricity.

John
johnbt is offline  
Old May 11, 2005, 11:03 AM   #5
moredes
Registration in progress
 
Join Date: September 7, 2001
Posts: 325
Youse guys ain't cheap enough....

I went to Home Depot and bought a grommet. After measuring it, I drilled a hole in a corner of the safe and cut an extension cord so I could thread it through. Then I spliced it back together, and installed a 5 watt bulb receptacle and "voila!". 5 watt bulbs are those teardrop christmas tree bulbs; they keep the 30cf safe around 70*, and I have to replace the bulb every 4 months or so. I used to have a Goldenrod, but the safe always got too hot; I was concerned about drying out my rifle stocks and some heirloom documents too much.
moredes is offline  
Old May 11, 2005, 11:56 AM   #6
mrstang01
Member
 
Join Date: February 10, 2002
Location: Central KY
Posts: 98
BigBoreKindaGuy, where would one find a pound of cobalt chloride?
mrstang01 is offline  
Old May 11, 2005, 01:10 PM   #7
claude783
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 21, 2004
Location: people's republic of California
Posts: 386
I purchase dehumidifer packs at the hardware store. If I am not going to be getting into the safe for some time..will light a small candle to burn off all the oxygen in the safe.

No Oxygen, no rust!
claude783 is offline  
Old May 11, 2005, 02:47 PM   #8
johnbt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 6, 1999
Location: Richmond, Virginia USA
Posts: 6,004
Are you certain the door seals? Close the door on a dollar bill and see if it slides out - that's also known as the refrigerator door gasket test. The safes I've looked at used an expanding door seal that required heat to work. The Golden Rod requires air circulation to work properly as opposed to the crystals that require an airtight container to work well.

My Liberty came pre-drilled in the back and I believe they all do.

John
johnbt is offline  
Old May 11, 2005, 08:20 PM   #9
ManChicken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 27, 2004
Posts: 14
Duh. OK, I just found the plug on the back right on the outside -- hehe, sometimes the obvious sails right past

Now the question is how to route the cord-- I don't want to just drill through the interior where the hole is, if I can avoid it.

Last edited by ManChicken; May 11, 2005 at 08:54 PM.
ManChicken is offline  
Old May 12, 2005, 10:15 AM   #10
johnbt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 6, 1999
Location: Richmond, Virginia USA
Posts: 6,004
It's only 3 layers of wallboard plus the carpet. - "4 layers ceiling, 3 layers wall of 5/8" fireboard"

Just drive a phillips head screwdriver through it. It's been so long that I don't remember if I had to cut a slit in the carpet, but there was plenty of room to run two wires.

John
johnbt is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07751 seconds with 7 queries