The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 23, 2005, 12:50 PM   #1
Deerinator
Member
 
Join Date: April 19, 2005
Posts: 56
Magtech Ammo?

This ammo would be cheeper to buy in bulk that most other ammo in the cabels store. The question i have is it a good round for practice and making your accuracy better...and is it reloadable?

I want to sharpen my 357, and 44 skills and this ammo seems to be prices a little better that the bulk ammo they offer.

Whats your guys opions on this ammo?
Deerinator is offline  
Old April 23, 2005, 12:56 PM   #2
Avid Concealer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 6, 2005
Posts: 166
Personally I like it, but around here at its locations of availability it's more expensive than my favorite (winchester). It shoots great and it's clean and reliable. I've only shot it in 9mm though. I dunno about being reloadable. I'm certain you'll have your answer shortly.
__________________
"No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms." ~Thomas Jefferson~
Avid Concealer is offline  
Old April 23, 2005, 01:28 PM   #3
Al Norris
Staff
 
Join Date: June 29, 2000
Location: Rupert, Idaho
Posts: 9,318
I've only used MagTech in 44. It is clean and accurate. It is a full house load. The brass is quite good/reloadable. As far as I can tell, as good as Star brass.
__________________
National listings of the Current 2A Cases.
Al Norris is offline  
Old April 23, 2005, 03:16 PM   #4
Greenfurniture
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 7, 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 209
Good round for reloading. I don't think it's as clean as the others though.
__________________
Drink your Kool-Aid, follow me.
Greenfurniture is offline  
Old April 23, 2005, 06:07 PM   #5
caz223
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 15, 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,383
I have yet to load as accurate a round in .357 as the magtech 125 grain load.
*cries*
It's good stuff, I just keep trying to load .357 every now and then to see if I forgot something...
__________________
I'm not just a gun.
I'm YOUR gun.
(Hold me.)
caz223 is offline  
Old April 23, 2005, 07:46 PM   #6
Deerinator
Member
 
Join Date: April 19, 2005
Posts: 56
As i do not have a reloader yet i'm going to save the brass from my 357 and when i do get a reloader i'm going to make a 158 grain deer killing round. Its good to know that this is good stuff i'm gonna buy a poop load of it when i save some green backs. Thanks for the info.
Deerinator is offline  
Old April 24, 2005, 08:27 AM   #7
Swamp Yankee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 26, 2000
Location: Northeastern Ct.
Posts: 1,013
I do not sort 9mm brass, just fill it and shoot it.

I know for a fact there's a bunch of Magtech brass mixed in with the Winchester, Remington, S&B, PMC, and others in the 9mm collection. I have not noticed any difference in either loading or shooting rounds with Magtech brass.
Take Care
Swamp Yankee is offline  
Old April 25, 2005, 09:10 PM   #8
1911ONR
Member
 
Join Date: April 19, 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 19
Swamp Yankee said: "I do not sort 9mm brass, just fill it and shoot it."

SY - I take it that you haven't run into any 'FD NT' brass. It'll stop your progressive reloader in it's tracks. Same with 'WIN NT' in .45ACP.
1911ONR is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07168 seconds with 7 queries