The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 18, 2005, 02:33 AM   #1
M4A3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 21, 2002
Location: Minnesota (YA-SHURE-YOU-BETCHA)
Posts: 620
I want one!!!!! You gotta see this!!!

M4A3 is offline  
Old March 18, 2005, 06:21 AM   #2
yorec
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 2, 2000
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,324
Well yeeaahh...

Another example of the AR's endless variations...
__________________
What part of "... shall not be infringed..." don't you understand?

My site - stop by n see what I'm all about... Yes, there is gun stuff.
yorec is offline  
Old March 18, 2005, 12:35 PM   #3
Freeman25
Member
 
Join Date: January 21, 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 98
Well, this is a beutiful one... Who doesn't want one?
__________________
Everyone has to earn his title.

Max
Freeman25 is offline  
Old March 18, 2005, 01:27 PM   #4
Stiletto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 9, 2005
Posts: 388
I'm looking at that barrel and thinking it looks kinda short.
Stiletto is offline  
Old March 18, 2005, 01:55 PM   #5
thebucket
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 11, 2004
Posts: 105
From what the order form on their website looks like there's actually a civilian legal version!
thebucket is offline  
Old March 18, 2005, 02:18 PM   #6
rugerdude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 6, 2004
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,442
I'm thinking that reaching around the belt would be a little odd. Nice looking gun though!

Please excuse my lack of ammo identification, but is that chambered in 7.62x51?
__________________
"The SKS is a rifle, made the way they should be, out of a heavy block of crappy commie steel, set in an inletted semi-reshaped 2x4."

Not my quote but I agree completely.
rugerdude is offline  
Old March 18, 2005, 02:23 PM   #7
M4A3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 21, 2002
Location: Minnesota (YA-SHURE-YOU-BETCHA)
Posts: 620
Quote:
Please excuse my lack of ammo identification, but is that chambered in 7.62x51?
5.56
M4A3 is offline  
Old March 18, 2005, 02:58 PM   #8
jonathon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 14, 2005
Location: Washougal, Washington. YEHAW!
Posts: 1,872
Recoil isnt to bad on the .223 either.....

Though.. I couldn't justify buying an AR-15 variant..
__________________
Romans 12:21

Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good


More CZ M52 info than you can shake a stick at!
jonathon is offline  
Old March 18, 2005, 04:03 PM   #9
M4A3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 21, 2002
Location: Minnesota (YA-SHURE-YOU-BETCHA)
Posts: 620
I would like to but a semi-auto SAW but thay go for about $5,000.00 Maby a semi in this would be a more affordable alternitive...
M4A3 is offline  
Old March 19, 2005, 12:55 PM   #10
shaggy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 9, 2004
Posts: 1,519
Quote:
I would like to but a semi-auto SAW but thay go for about $5,000.00 Maby a semi in this would be a more affordable alternitive...
Doubtful.

Introductory price on the Shrike upper was $2500 (which is now about 2 years beyond the original delivery date). Newly ordered units are in the $4k-5k range IIRC. At $2500-3000 for an upper, I'd be interested, beyond that, I'll just get an LMT MRP or MGI CQB upper, a few spare barrels, and some Beta-Cs, OR a Colt OB LMG upper and a few Betas.
shaggy is offline  
Old March 19, 2005, 02:33 PM   #11
Freeman25
Member
 
Join Date: January 21, 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 98
correct me if I'm wrong but that belt is a sabot belt, isn't it?
__________________
Everyone has to earn his title.

Max
Freeman25 is offline  
Old March 21, 2005, 09:17 AM   #12
buzz_knox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 2, 1999
Location: Knoxville, in the Free State of Tennesse
Posts: 4,191
Quote:
correct me if I'm wrong but that belt is a sabot belt, isn't it?
Perhaps you should define what a sabot belt is? The rounds in that belt aren't sabot loads, and I've never heard the term sabot applied to a belt before.
buzz_knox is offline  
Old March 21, 2005, 07:15 PM   #13
jdberger
Member
 
Join Date: July 23, 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 85
Yes, what is a "sabot belt"?
__________________
"Dulce bellum inexpertis." -Erasmus-
jdberger is offline  
Old March 22, 2005, 01:45 PM   #14
Freeman25
Member
 
Join Date: January 21, 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 98
You know what sabot round is, right?
Now, a sabot belt is fed by miniguns or for example the M230 mg on the
AH 64 Apache.
__________________
Everyone has to earn his title.

Max
Freeman25 is offline  
Old March 22, 2005, 02:21 PM   #15
jdberger
Member
 
Join Date: July 23, 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 85
1) I'm pretty sure that mini-guns do not use belts.

2) I'm positive that the M230 does not use a belt, the feed is described as "linkless". see: http://66.102.7.104/search?q=cache:v...htm+m230&hl=en

The company, MWD, that makes the M230, describes its "linear linkless" ammo feed system in the following way:

Quote:
"Linear Linkless”, which characterises the design of almost all MWD’s medium calibre ammunition handling systems, eliminates bullet links to maximize available space for ammunition storage as bullets move quickly and reliably along any line from storage to weapon.
I have seen Sabot rounds. I've even stuffed a few into a 120mm gun. I've fired a few out of a .50 cal muzzle loader and a 30-06.

I guess I don't understand the concept of a 'sabot belt.' Is it there to feed the sabot rounds? Why wouldn't a normal belt work?
__________________
"Dulce bellum inexpertis." -Erasmus-
jdberger is offline  
Old March 22, 2005, 02:24 PM   #16
FallenPhoenix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 2, 2004
Location: Odessa, Tx
Posts: 213
I'm guessing 'sabot belt' is referring to a linkless belt.
FallenPhoenix is offline  
Old March 22, 2005, 02:33 PM   #17
jdberger
Member
 
Join Date: July 23, 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 85
Quote:
'sabot belt' is referring to a linkless belt
Huh?

Linear Linkless means no belt. No links. The rounds are pushed/pulled along a chute.

And the belt on the Ares gun clearly has disintegrating links.
__________________
"Dulce bellum inexpertis." -Erasmus-
jdberger is offline  
Old March 22, 2005, 02:38 PM   #18
FallenPhoenix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 2, 2004
Location: Odessa, Tx
Posts: 213
notice I said "I'm guessing" I think he just dubbed it a sabot belt because the belt is discarded :shrug:
FallenPhoenix is offline  
Old March 22, 2005, 02:47 PM   #19
jdberger
Member
 
Join Date: July 23, 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 85


Hmmm...excellent point. Never thought of that.
__________________
"Dulce bellum inexpertis." -Erasmus-
jdberger is offline  
Old March 22, 2005, 02:50 PM   #20
shaggy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 9, 2004
Posts: 1,519
FWIW, miniguns do use linked belts and fire the standard 4:1 ball/tracer mix. They use the same link (M27) as the M60, M240, MG3, etc. The belts travel through a feed chute to protect the belt from getting snagged - it moves quite fast through the gun, and if it gets snagged or drags on something, the rotor inthe gun will continue to turn and shred live rounds and brass (its a real mess - I've helped pull one apart after a belt got caught on an edge inside the feed chute and the rotor mangled about a dozen rounds inside the gun.)
shaggy is offline  
Old March 22, 2005, 03:00 PM   #21
buzz_knox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 2, 1999
Location: Knoxville, in the Free State of Tennesse
Posts: 4,191
Quote:
You know what sabot round is, right?
Now, a sabot belt is fed by miniguns or for example the M230 mg on the
AH 64 Apache.
Yes, I do. It refers to a round that has a subcaliber projectile contained within a (usually discarding) container referred to as a sabot, after the french wooden shoe. It's designed to provide a higher velocity than normal by using a standard charge with a lighter, small projectile. It's most commonly found in the Armor Piercing Fin Stabilized Discarding Sabot (APFSDS) loads used by tanks for anti-armor work.

The M230 chaingun on an AH-64 doesn't use sabot rounds. In fact, I'm not aware of any aircraft that does due to the danger to the aircraft posed by the discarding sabot and by the fact that the potential accuracy/safety issues posed outweighs their penetration ability, especially given that aircraft usually attack the thinner top armor of vehicles, where the sabot round is not necessary. Further, the M230 is for engaging relatively soft targets such as APCs and support vehicles. Those targets it can't deal with are best left to the Hellfires.

30 mm ammunition
buzz_knox is offline  
Old March 22, 2005, 03:15 PM   #22
jdberger
Member
 
Join Date: July 23, 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 85
The DU rounds were pretty scary to us tankers. Made me pretty wary of the Apache and Wathog boys...

Quote:
I'm not aware of any aircraft that does due to the danger to the aircraft posed by the discarding sabot
Forgot about that.

We were always "advised" not to fire APDS over the heads of troops - though what they would be doing in front of us was always a mystery...

Quote:
miniguns do use linked belts
Totally correct. I remember a tour of Dillon Precision and the manager telling me that anyone not working was supposed to be linking ammo for the miniguns. Here is a link: Dillon Aero
__________________
"Dulce bellum inexpertis." -Erasmus-
jdberger is offline  
Old March 22, 2005, 11:29 PM   #23
w4klr
Junior member
 
Join Date: December 22, 2004
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 280
I wonder if it is blocked... that would be worth the price though.... I already own a DIAS...
w4klr is offline  
Old March 22, 2005, 11:37 PM   #24
accordingtome
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 8, 2005
Location: TeXas, HoUSton
Posts: 262
I would never want one

Ya thats right.. i would never want one of these rifles..
I want two
accordingtome is offline  
Old March 23, 2005, 10:06 AM   #25
shaggy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 9, 2004
Posts: 1,519
Quote:
I wonder if it is blocked... that would be worth the price though.... I already own a DIAS...
The block would be in the lower; Ares is only making the upper receiver unit and they will be compatible with both RR guns and RDIAS guns. I don't know if a RLL would work, though I suspect it would.
shaggy is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.12265 seconds with 7 queries