The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old January 20, 2005, 08:47 PM   #1
defjon

"Saturday night special" RG Industries .38 Special

Hey everyone. First off, I know there is a lot of brand bias around here towards name brands, but I'm a lowly poor college student and NIB Smiths, Rugers, etc are simply not in the cards for now. I know the RG Industries revolver is classified in that whole "saturday night special" spectrum, because its so goddamn cheap.

I've found one for under 100$, in great condition.

Now, I just want some honest input here. I know it isn't a name brand gun or built from the finest stuff around, but has anyone actually OWNED one?

Do they break easily? I would really like some firsthand accounts, not just bias against a gun that isn't 600 dollars. Does it go "bang" everytime is my biggest concern here.

The gun is a .38 special snubby, in great condition as I said. I know the frame is zinc-alloy, how does it hold up to firing? How many rounds before it busts, etc? I've read of a lot of people using the roscoes for years and still having them around, running fine.

Thanks in advance for help here!

Jon
Old January 20, 2005, 09:20 PM   #2
HighVelocity

I have never actually owned one but I have had experiences with the RG38.
I spent several years as a Range Officer and I saw 2 of these guns come apart.
Not only do you have to unscrew and remove the ejector rod to open the cylinder and manually push out each shell casing one at a time, the grips won't stay on.
Do yourself a favor and save your money. For less than $200 you could pick up a really nice Charter Arms or Rossi 38 and be much better off.

my .02
Old January 20, 2005, 10:15 PM   #3
JCM298

"I've found one for under 100$, in great condition"

Brand new, on the assemby line, at the factory, RG's are not in great condition.
They are junk,

John
Old January 20, 2005, 10:31 PM   #4
rodgers330