The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old September 14, 2004, 11:38 PM   #1
Lucky Devil

Post & crosshair reticle

I just bought an old Weaver K2.5 with this reticle, which I have no practical experience with. I plan to mount it on a Marlin 336 and was wondering... is the point of aim the top of the post, or the intersection of the post and crosshair? What are the strengths & weaknesses of this style reticle?

Thanks!
Old September 15, 2004, 04:32 AM   #2
LAK

I have never liked this type of reticle, instead preferring the european style that is similar to the popular "duplex" but without the upper verticle section. This results in an excellent heavy three point reference in very low light, the retained three fine crosshair intersecting center for fine/longer range shooting, and an unobstructed view of the whole upper field.

With the post and crosshair, the point of aim is the little point that sits on top of the crosshair. Suitable for closer ranges, poor light, and medium to larger game at mid- to longer ranges respectively. Disadvantages are readily apparent; smaller targets are going to be obscured at middle distances on out. But I doubt that you will be using a 336 on small game so this shouldn't be a problem.
Old September 16, 2004, 03:26 PM   #3
Gewehr98

I have a similar crosshair setup on my 1903A4 sniper.

It was the issue reticle for the Lyman-based M73 and later M81, M82, and M84 scopes. These were 2.5x scopes, 7/8" tube diameter, and were considered pretty effective out to 600 yards, sitting on either the Springfield 1903A4, or M1C and M1D Garands. Weaver made the M73B1, also known as the Weaver 330, but it was a 3/4" tube scope of 2.5x.