The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 2, 2004, 06:54 AM   #1
importfan
Member
 
Join Date: September 2, 2004
Posts: 18
3 round burst/AR-15

Is this possible?I haven't heard any one talk about it thats why I am asking.
importfan is offline  
Old September 2, 2004, 07:56 AM   #2
grey_pilgrim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 26, 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 330
Are you asking if its possible to convert the ar-15 to 3 round burst?

ANswer: NO-- firearms laws prevent normal people from making machine guns

Are you asking if it COULD be done: then the answer is yes. The ar15 is only a hair different from the weapons the military uses (m16/m4), and i believe (if my info is correct) that they generally are 3 round burst, although this is not always the case.

Don't try the conversion. If you want 3 round burst without joining the military, take out a (HUUUUUUGE) loan, and go
here
and
here

or find your local class 3 dealer.
grey_pilgrim is offline  
Old September 2, 2004, 01:07 PM   #3
importfan
Member
 
Join Date: September 2, 2004
Posts: 18
whats wrong with the conversion?
importfan is offline  
Old September 2, 2004, 02:01 PM   #4
No4Mk1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 18, 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 431
It is illegal.
__________________
The beauty of Grace is that it makes life not fair....

http://www.guncollectorsforum.com
No4Mk1 is offline  
Old September 2, 2004, 02:01 PM   #5
Ben Swenson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 17, 2000
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,211
Quote:
whats wrong with the conversion?
Nothing at all!
You are a Class 2 Manufacturer licensed by the Federal government to build and sell NFA restricted weapons (except destructive devices), right?

If not, the only thing wrong with the conversion is a felony record, 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. If you're lucky, that is.
__________________
News, opinion, pictures and more.
(formerly known as Cordex)
Ben Swenson is offline  
Old September 5, 2004, 03:18 AM   #6
C_Yeager
Member
 
Join Date: May 17, 2004
Posts: 90
Isnt the M16-A2 equipped with a 3round burst mechanism? I believe it is most certainly mechanically possible to do. It CAN be done legally (buying a registered m16, being a licensed manufacturer etc) but, its a hassle. Actually converting an AR-15 (semi auto) is gonna be quite sticky though from a legal if not mechanical standpoint.
C_Yeager is offline  
Old September 5, 2004, 06:10 AM   #7
Hkmp5sd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 15, 2001
Location: Winter Haven, Florida
Posts: 4,303
Not to mention, the method used in the M16 to get a 3-round burst sucks. It's a ratchet that winds up giving you a different trigger pull for each shot. If you release the trigger after 2 rounds fired, your next "burst" is exactly one round.

Go with full-auto and learn trigger control to fire bursts.
__________________
NRA Certified Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, Home Safety, Personal Protection, Range Safety Officer

NRA Life Member
Hkmp5sd is offline  
Old September 28, 2004, 04:27 PM   #8
Badger Arms
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 2, 2000
Location: Harnett County, NC
Posts: 1,678
Converting an AR-15 to 3-round burst involves the following:

First, get a Class II license.

Second, mill the section of the lower out that projects a little (on the right side)

Third, locate and drill a hole for the auto-sear.

Fourth, replace the trigger, selector, hammer, sear, and sear spring with the appropriate parts, ratchets, cogs, gears, doohickies, and other delicate crap you'll need. You can get them from Bushmaster or any other AR-15 manufacturer with your tax stamp.

Finally, install the auto sear and M16 bolt carrier. You're ready to rock, roll, and complain like nearly everybody else who uses the neutered 3-round burst mechanism.

If you REALLY want a 3-round burst, the HK and Ruger mechanisms are much better. I prefer a full-auto mechanism and some fire discipline.
__________________
We may or may not worship God, but John Moses Browning made sure we can choose.
Badger Arms is offline  
Old October 3, 2004, 11:26 AM   #9
guy sajer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 7, 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 328
Quote:
...I prefer a full-auto mechanism and some fire discipline.
Exactly ! With the selector on FA , I don't find it difficult to fire even single shots . 3 rd is pretty easy . Also , if you need 10 , it's available .
__________________
Mitch

Please visit Olde English Outfitters

RIP John Forsyth
guy sajer is offline  
Old October 3, 2004, 11:30 AM   #10
Powderman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 7, 2001
Location: Washington State
Posts: 2,160
Not to mention that with the 3 round burst, if you're firing single shots, each successive pull of the trigger is positively HORRIBLE. Full auto, 3-5 round bursts is good enough.

For all the information you need about building full auto and conversions, go here first:

www.atf.gov
__________________
Hiding in plain sight...
Powderman is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08399 seconds with 7 queries