The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 29, 2014, 02:31 PM   #1
joesmoe_6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: July 29, 2014
Posts: 5
500 Yard Ranging

I have a question regarding setting up for a 500 yard Competition.

Can I use a ballistics program and enter the following parameters Bullet Weight, BC , sight over bore , etc and use 500 yards as the sight in distance.

Calculate a firing solution based on the criteria I've given and use the 100 yard rise value to set up the scope for the 500 yard shot.

By that I mean at 100 Yards the bullet is 7.5 inches high.

If I set up my scope so that it shows 7.5 inches high at 100 yards will I be right on at 500 Yards ?
joesmoe_6 is offline  
Old July 29, 2014, 02:32 PM   #2
jwrowland77
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 23, 2012
Location: Conway, Arkansas
Posts: 982
If it was me, I'd just zero at 100, then dial in once you get to your match.
jwrowland77 is offline  
Old July 29, 2014, 02:45 PM   #3
joesmoe_6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: July 29, 2014
Posts: 5
I'm not that confident in my ability to dial in the scope
joesmoe_6 is offline  
Old July 29, 2014, 07:21 PM   #4
jwrowland77
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 23, 2012
Location: Conway, Arkansas
Posts: 982
Make a dope sheet for your reloads using a 100yd zero. Having exactly how many MOA each distance takes and study it, learn it.

In my app, I have it broken into 25yd increments. You could break it into 50yd increments or 100yd. However you want to break it up. When in MOA up adjustments, there's no calculations as to how many clicks, plus this number is a rough guesstimate.

After a few competitions, you'll know how each range acts and where you need to dial in at. Then you'll have your real world numbers. It's all about trigger time.
jwrowland77 is offline  
Old July 29, 2014, 08:26 PM   #5
Dave P
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 16, 1999
Location: North Florida
Posts: 1,131
"If it was me, I'd just zero at 100, then dial in once you get to your match. "

Some venues require you to have a suitable zero before your first shot down range. If you can't hit the black, you go home (or back to the sight in range).

It aint that hard.
__________________
... still waiting for that stimulus to kick in ...
Dave P is offline  
Old July 29, 2014, 08:32 PM   #6
jwrowland77
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 23, 2012
Location: Conway, Arkansas
Posts: 982
I mean, zero it in at 100, once you get to the venue, dial your up adjustment before any shooting.

And no, it ain't that hard, I do it all the time.
jwrowland77 is offline  
Old July 29, 2014, 09:11 PM   #7
4runnerman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 16, 2010
Location: Minnsota
Posts: 2,832
I agree with most here,except I would never zero at 100 yards. I would zero at 300 yards and go from there. Depending on what your shooting 6 to 8 MOA and your dead on at 500.
__________________
NRA Certified RSO
NwCP- Performance Isn't Optional
4runnerman is offline  
Old July 30, 2014, 09:05 AM   #8
joesmoe_6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: July 29, 2014
Posts: 5
I appreciate all the responses however noone has answered my question.


I have a question regarding setting up for a 500 yard Competition.

Can I use a ballistics program and enter the following parameters Bullet Weight, BC , sight over bore , etc and use 500 yards as the sight in distance.

Calculate a firing solution based on the criteria I've given and use the 100 yard rise value to set up the scope for the 500 yard shot.

By that I mean at 100 Yards the bullet is 7.5 inches high.

If I set up my scope so that it shows 7.5 inches high at 100 yards will I be right on at 500 Yards ?
joesmoe_6 is offline  
Old July 30, 2014, 12:53 PM   #9
joesmoe_6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: July 29, 2014
Posts: 5
I set the scope up using a laser bore sighter showing the point of
impact at 7.5 inches with the cross hairs 7.5 inches lower than the laser dot.
joesmoe_6 is offline  
Old July 30, 2014, 09:42 PM   #10
4runnerman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 16, 2010
Location: Minnsota
Posts: 2,832
In concept-Yes you can do as your thinking. In reality-probebly not. If you are attempting to shoot 500 yards by sighting in high at 100 yards you might be in for a suprise. If you have never shot your load farther than 100 yards-You are in for a real suprise. Your way will get you close ( 2 to 4 inches ). But in comp-2 to 4 inches at 500 yards is not that tight. You do get ( most times 5 sight in shots ). Have you shot this load farther than 100 yards?.

Don't make this harder than it is. You have the info on your bullet ( speed,wt,BC,ect ) plug it in and do as you say. But learn MOA and drop this sighting in high at 100 yards and be a click counter. It's that easy.
__________________
NRA Certified RSO
NwCP- Performance Isn't Optional
4runnerman is offline  
Old August 4, 2014, 01:40 PM   #11
joesmoe_6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: July 29, 2014
Posts: 5
I had the competition

As a FYI to everyone I was shooting Hornandy 750 Grain AMAX 50 Cal BMG.

I sighted the rifle in at 100 yards. I had it dead on.

I the ran my balistics calculations for a 500 yard zero using the same load.

This showed at 100 yards the bullet would be 7.5 inches igh.

I then used a laser bore sighter to set the point of impact at 100 yards
to be 7.5 inches high.

I was 10 inches low my first shots at the competition. I then adjusted the scope up 1.8 MOA.

I was the almost dead on the bulls eye.

I shot a 3 shot group of 1.25 inches
joesmoe_6 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08176 seconds with 9 queries