The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 29, 2002, 10:42 PM   #1
Wayne F
Junior Member
 
Join Date: November 9, 2001
Posts: 14
GunVault Issues

Just received a Deluxe GunVault and had a few questions. I ordered the deluxe version specifically because I wanted the interior light, 110 adapter and cable to secure the vault.

I open the vault and find the upper foam padding is not secured to the top of the vault. Particularly on the left side (looking into the box). How is this foam supposed to be secured?

Secondly I find that the vault does not even include the cable or the power adapter. The photos on GV's website show the cable with the vault in the pictures. I was under the impression that the deluxe version came with the adapter and cable. Now I have to go out and buy these things separately?!!

Finally, reading the instructions. It says that even if you use the 110 adapter you still need to put batteries in the tray. So, my question is: Why are the batteries still needed? Will I still need to replace the things every-time they run out? This kind of defeats the purpose of plugging the thing in. I want to be able to plug the thing in and forget about.

Wish I had known this stuff before ordering as I would not have spent this kind of money for this product. Any insight you GV owners can shed on these issues would be much appreciated.

Wayne
Wayne F is offline  
Old September 30, 2002, 12:52 AM   #2
sven
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 4, 2002
Location: Palo Alto, California
Posts: 532
I got the basic and love it. The foam comes out, and goes back in just fine.

Sorry about your Deluxe-specific issues.
sven is offline  
Old September 30, 2002, 07:57 AM   #3
Dave P
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 16, 1999
Location: North Florida
Posts: 1,134
So, my question is: Why are the batteries still needed?

You can prolly live without the batts, but your safe won't work when your house power is out.

I got rid of the AA batts, and replaced them with a 12 lead acid batt. I charge it once a year or so to keep it happy.
Dave P is offline  
Old September 30, 2002, 04:48 PM   #4
larryw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 17, 2002
Posts: 336
Wayne, sorry to hear your first impression is so negative. I was less than thrilled when I first got mine, primarily because the instructions and other written materials are less than clear (OK, they sucked).

But I've had it for over a year and find it to be a great product. The foam, loose so it can be bolted securely to the wall, has never got in the way or worked its way loose once tucked in. I'm in this safe at least once a week and am still on the first set of batteries (that reminds me, I'm changing them as soon as I hit "submit" ).

My only complaint is the beeps that it makes when opening. I think I'll shut that up with some creative wiresnipping when I swap the batteries.
larryw is offline  
Old October 1, 2002, 01:16 AM   #5
youngun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 8, 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 324
You should be able to turn the beeping off.
I have mine on beep as a solution to *my* problem with it, which is that it doesn't register the input fast enough, which is to say, I push the buttons too fast and it doesn't recognize my entry.
The beep lets me know, "o.k., got that one, now the next one, and the next one...."
I wish it wasn't so slow.
I've trained myself to be very deliberate in pushing the buttons, but I only hope I can perform like that when there's someone crawling through my window!

youngun
__________________
New firing pin: $12.
New extractor: $15.
Ballistic fingerprinting: worthless.
youngun is offline  
Old October 1, 2002, 01:52 AM   #6
RKCheung
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 9, 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 170
My roommate used to joke that the last thing a burgular would hear would be *beep* *beep* *beep* *BANG*

RKCheung is offline  
Old October 1, 2002, 09:20 AM   #7
Paul in RI
Registration in progress
 
Join Date: September 4, 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 10
FYI

BTW, you can program out the beeping.
After a trouble free year with my large vault, I started to train my wife on its use ( nightly actually). I uncovered a potential problem you should be aware of.

The vault recognizes six inputs, but will allow less. If you make a mistake it will go into sleep mode after 24 entries.(a simo entry = 2 BTW). If you program your code to 4 entries for example, and mess up on one entry, you can't just keep entering it in and expect it to work. Example code= 1,2,3,4. you enter 1,2,4, it doesn't open so you re-enter 1,2,3,4. The vault sees 1,2,4,1,2, which is not your code, and it won't open. Enter enough codes and it sleeps, not good. You can wait for it to rest, but that's not a good option if a BG is on the way.

My solution was to use the full six codes. That way if it doesn't open with the first try you can just keep entering the code untill it does open. (in other words you won't be changing the order of the string of numbers).

This is kind of hard to explain in words, try it. It scared the heck out of me when I realized the consequences.
Paul in RI is offline  
Old October 1, 2002, 09:58 AM   #8
Onslaught
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 11, 1999
Location: GA
Posts: 1,749
I used stick-on velcro to secure my foam to the wall as a security measure. If I ever need to get at the bolts, no problem.

And secondly, regarding the batteries and "slow response times"... Here's my solution
__________________
Yes Rico... KaBOOM!
Onslaught is offline  
Old October 1, 2002, 05:44 PM   #9
Shawn Dodson
Junior member
 
Join Date: December 16, 1998
Location: Titusville, FL, USA
Posts: 1,030
Quote:
...the upper foam padding is not secured to the top of the vault. Particularly on the left side (looking into the box). How is this foam supposed to be secured?
Read the directions. It is not bonded to the interior to enable access to the battery pack, which is secured to the interior "roof" with plastic thumbscrews. The foam padding is friction fitted and stays put.
Quote:
Secondly I find that the vault does not even include the cable or the power adapter.... Now I have to go out and buy these things separately?!!
You should have gotten the cable. There should be an inventory list on a separate sheet of paper in your documents packet. Unless they've changed, the AC power adapter has to be purchased from Radio Shack. In my opinion, it's not needed for typical home use.
Quote:
Will I still need to replace the things every-time they run out? This kind of defeats the purpose of plugging the thing in. I want to be able to plug the thing in and forget about.
I've been evaluating a GunVault Deluxe for three years with the original batteries. Over the course of my testing I've frozen the entire unit in my freezer for a week & opened it once/day while still frozen, simulated a years worth of daily opening in addition to routine daily use over three years, completely disassembled the unit several times, took it on travel (to avoid annoying my wife) so I could have an alarm clock wake me up at O-dark thirty to test my ability to open it from a dead sleep while still fuzzy eyed and with no lighting available, dropped it onto my concrete garage floor several times, let the annoying alarm run and run, turned the "beeps" on and off, tested every function to the Nth degree, and bet my youngest daughter $20.00 she couldn't open it (she didn't, over the course of several days, despite three different available combinations for her to stumble upon, so I gave her $10.00 as a consolation prize for her time and effort). Battery life was my primary concern. Based on my experiences it is no longer a concern. My opinion? If you change the batteries once/year you're good to go.
Quote:
The vault recognizes six inputs, but will allow less... My solution was to use the full six codes.
With an entry combination of less than 6 inputs (say 4) and you realize you made an error, simply continue making inputs until the red LED flashes 3 times (and beeps 3 times if the beep function is enabled), the unit will reset and then reenter the combination.

It will also allow you to press two or more keypads simultaneously as a single entry. This I do not recommend based on my O'dark thirty tests -- too complicated. One night the unit went into sleep mode after I tried several times, from a dead sleep, to "simultaneously" press more then one keypad in the dark.
Quote:
I used stick-on velcro to secure my foam to the wall as a security measure. If I ever need to get at the bolts, no problem.
GREAT IDEA!
Quote:
And secondly, regarding the batteries and "slow response times"...
I've never experienced a problem with "slow response times" or battery load life. Anyone who does should contact the factory because their unit is faulty.

BTW, I have no financial interest in GunVault.
Shawn Dodson is offline  
Old October 1, 2002, 07:19 PM   #10
Wayne F
Junior Member
 
Join Date: November 9, 2001
Posts: 14
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Read the directions. It is not bonded to the interior to enable access to the battery pack, which is secured to the interior "roof" with plastic thumbscrews. The foam padding is friction fitted and stays put.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Yeah, I read the directions. The foam will not stay put even when tucked in, period.


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My opinion? If you change the batteries once/year you're good to go.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I had hoped that the adapter would take care of the battery issue. I simply don't want to screw with batteries once a year. Just one more thing to worry about. I want to be able to plug it in and forget it. I guess that's too much to ask though. Oh well.

Wayne
Wayne F is offline  
Old October 1, 2002, 08:12 PM   #11
Cedric
Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 67
Yes, you could use it without batteries and with a wall plug adapter (I think), but it would really suck if you needed the firearm and the power was out... Also if the power goes out without battery backup, the code will revert to the stock 1234 code.

So yes, the power adapter would work well, and with battery backup you should get a REALLY long life out of the batteries because it won't be constantly drawing from them (assuming the wall power overides the circuit for the batteries).

Good luck. I'm thinking about getting one myself.

Regards,
Cedric
Cedric is offline  
Old October 2, 2002, 01:12 AM   #12
youngun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 8, 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 324
Shawn Dodson

About the speed thing, are you saying you can't punch the keypad faster than it will register?
Either mine is faulty or I'm the bionic man.
I can punch a three-digit code in about the same time as you might normally say "dot dot dot."
Not overly speedy, jsut doing it.
That is a tiny bit faster than the unit will hear me.
Instead I have to go more like Paul McCartney at the beginning of "When I Saw Her Standing There."
("One Two Three Four! -Well she was just seventeen...")

-Just to give you an idea of the timing.
I rarely have that particular song in my head while I'm opening the safe.
Well, o.k.
Sometimes.
-But that's neither here nor there.

The point is, I DO have to slow down for it.
Are you saying yours would allow me to punch it in "dot dot dot?"
__________________
New firing pin: $12.
New extractor: $15.
Ballistic fingerprinting: worthless.
youngun is offline  
Old October 2, 2002, 09:07 AM   #13
Paul in RI
Registration in progress
 
Join Date: September 4, 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 10
Actually, training yourself to enter the rest of the six codes is a goog idea shawn. (if you have a 4 input code and it doesn't open just enter two more dud codes to get the thing to reset, then enter the correct code). The only problem is, how do you know if you missed one input, or two, or just hit the wrong key?

The company did tell me that a combination entry (two keys held at the same time) would be counted as two entries as far as the reset function goes.

I do find if I rush the entry It will not open, (I tend to follow Younguns' speed which always works fine) and my wife has more trouble than I do (due to finger strength?).

Unfortunately it's mounted in a way that we can't see the lights very well, and I prefer not to have to interpret blinking lights in an emergency.

Now that I think of it, the only way to be sure the thing opens is to pick one key, and program for 6 pushes. That way you just keep pushing that one button until it opens.
Paul in RI is offline  
Old October 2, 2002, 11:30 AM   #14
DougB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 2, 1999
Posts: 838
I have the basic model GunVault and am very happy with it. I have it mounted under a table, out of sight, but readily accessible. It seems perfect for this usage. The door is spring loaded and pops right open without getting in the way or banging the table. I considered getting the deluxe model (I'm usually an easy sell for upgrades) but I couldn't really see any benefit (to me) of the extra features. Also, I think it was a little thicker, and I wanted the edge of the table to conceal it.

I did have two manufacturing defects with mine. The battery pack that came with it had a problem (loose connectiion somewhere I guess). I called the company and they sent a replacement right away. Then, a few months after I received it the rubber pad that covers the buttons fell off (I came home and it was on the floor). I stuck it back on a couple of times, but it would fall off again within a day or two. I called the company again, and they said that they had received a bad batch of adhesive (they said the supplier changed the formula without telling them I think). Anyway, they sent me a replacement adhesive pad on a pre-cut template that was easy to install. No problems since. So, while it is a little frustrating to have problems with a new purchase, the company was very responsive and took care of me.

I think the design is very good. I have a fairly complex code that uses six enteries (two of which include pushing multiple buttons at the same time), but I rarely have any problem opening it. If I do make a mistake, I just do it again and it opens right up. I woudn't worry too much about the code issue. I'm am very happy with mine and am considering buying another.

Doug
DougB is offline  
Old October 6, 2002, 03:30 PM   #15
TCW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 10, 2000
Location: PRK
Posts: 430
do you think a Gunvault could

Do you think a Gunvault could be mounted on top of a Homak gun case/safe (one of the cheaper ones)? Couldn't you just drill a couple holes on top of the Homak?
TCW is offline  
Old October 6, 2002, 10:13 PM   #16
DougB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 2, 1999
Posts: 838
TCW,

Yes, it would be easy to mount there. The GunVault comes with a template for easy mounting - I was able to mount it securely under a table in about 30 minutes. As I recall, two bolts/screws go in keyhole shaped holes, and then two more are put in through the open door to lock them all (so it can't easily be removed without opening the door).

That said, I wouldn't be too interested in mounting one on another gun cabinet/locker. Why not take advantage of the ease with which it can be concealed under a desk or table? I really like having the gun out of sight, totally secure from children, etc, yet readily available to me WHERE I AM LIKELY TO BE when I'm home (no more running to the gun safe when someone knocks on the door at midnight).

Doug
DougB is offline  
Old September 17, 2011, 12:03 PM   #17
Torontogunguy
Member
 
Join Date: October 1, 2007
Location: Buffalo NY/Toronto ON
Posts: 30
Pure and simple...
I have several safes (read approx 8 or 9) and only one is a GunVault. And the only one I have ever had an issue with is the GunVault. And that issue is battery life.

First set of batteries lasted two years, give or take. Replaced with brand new Duracells. They lasted three or four weeks. Replaced with a new set of Duracells. They lasted three or four weeks. I hear a distinct click as if the unit is trying to open but just not making it.

Bottom line as an electronics tech of some 40 years or more?

Caveat emptor! Let the buyer beware. GunVault has quite obviously got an issue with their electronics that causes them to draw current when they shouldn't be. I am going to measure that current load today or tomorrow to confirm.... not much point in putting in a wall wart unless you install it in place of the battery pack at the correct voltage. I would use a hefty wall wart as well; one that is protected from excess load and one that is good for perhaps an amp (1,000 ma.) in order to run cool under the constant small current draw.

Otherwise use this POS for something else that your life does not depend on and leave the key around somewhere attached to a big stick so it doesn't get lost. I'm thinking of using mine to store my gummy bears from the kids.

I sure wouldn't use it to store a firearm in, especially one that I was counting on to protect my family.

Period. End of story.

Oh. NOT end of story. My gun shops have stopped carrying them. GunVault is now posting on their website that they will not repair GunVaults. Need I say more? This is not rocket scientry. They are producing a POS that is unreliable. And when will you find this out? When you need your gun and go to open the door and hear nothing but a click. If you are going to be dumb enough to keep using the thing PLEASE PLEASE keep the key around and hidden (and remember where you put it).
Torontogunguy is offline  
Old September 26, 2011, 10:06 AM   #18
FAS1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 9, 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 270
Not everyone is comfortable with the electronics used on these types of handgun safes. There are other options out there that might suite you better. Just do a little research and see if one of the mechanical lock handgun safes is a better choice for you. There are all kinds and the batteries won't be an issue for you.

http://youtu.be/CcJUGuB35y8
__________________
Glenn

FAS1 SAFE, LLC
FAS1 is offline  
Old September 26, 2011, 11:08 AM   #19
7jinxed7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 3, 2009
Location: no where
Posts: 352
Fort Knox. Gunvault and those other pistol safes don't even compare. It does cost more though.
7jinxed7 is offline  
Old September 26, 2011, 08:55 PM   #20
Torontogunguy
Member
 
Join Date: October 1, 2007
Location: Buffalo NY/Toronto ON
Posts: 30
GunVault customer service has changed dramatically it would appear. I will report back when done!

Last edited by Torontogunguy; September 29, 2011 at 02:46 PM.
Torontogunguy is offline  
Old September 26, 2011, 10:11 PM   #21
7jinxed7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 3, 2009
Location: no where
Posts: 352
A whir is not good. Broken cable? Alot of complaints on that. Good luck. I've talked to a few other owners with less than satisfactory customer service.

They should really recall these GunVaults.
7jinxed7 is offline  
Old September 27, 2011, 09:54 AM   #22
Torontogunguy
Member
 
Join Date: October 1, 2007
Location: Buffalo NY/Toronto ON
Posts: 30
The GunVault design has apparently changed? I am super impressed by their customer service and will report back.

Last edited by Torontogunguy; September 29, 2011 at 02:45 PM.
Torontogunguy is offline  
Old September 27, 2011, 03:57 PM   #23
FAS1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 9, 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 270
Torontogunguy,

This is a thread w/pics on what sounds like the same problem you are having. Seems the design has been the same for several years as this post was in 2007. I have no idea what the failure rate of that part is or if it is still part of the current design. It does seem like that little cable would be a high wear item as it is twisted up on the shaft.

http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=242167
__________________
Glenn

FAS1 SAFE, LLC
FAS1 is offline  
Old September 27, 2011, 06:33 PM   #24
7jinxed7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 3, 2009
Location: no where
Posts: 352
Thats just a poor design. It needs a straight pull instead of spinning the cable. Any engineer,mechanic or tech. could have told you that would break.

ANy one know if that circuit board behind it can be relocated?
7jinxed7 is offline  
Old September 28, 2011, 06:30 AM   #25
TRDFurgesson
Member
 
Join Date: July 4, 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 93
I have the single basic and my batteries go dead in about a month. Duracell alkaline. Is this normal for do I need to call gun vault. I use it everyday because I CC.
__________________
Ohioans for conceal carry

A Glock that is not maintained will last, a Glock that is maintained will last a long time, and a Glock that is well maintained will last longer than you will.
TRDFurgesson is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.14842 seconds with 7 queries