The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old August 22, 2002, 10:10 AM   #1
Bongos

Santa Fe Arms Garand???

I have an opputunity to purchase a Santa Fe Garand, The seller says The Santa Fe Company used old GI receivers, they scratch the old name off and inscribed their name on, so I don't think there is a way of finding out the original manufacturer. This Garand is unique in that it was converted to use M1A/M14 magazines. I am new to Garands and don't know if the asking price of $800 is too much or too little. Any and all information is appreciated. The condition is excellent, stock is very nice.
Old August 22, 2002, 10:47 AM   #2
5pins

Removing the manufacturers name and putting on a new one would be a violation of federal law. So I don’t think it has a GI receiver. Is it 30.06 or .308? If it’s 30.06 then it can’t use M1A/M14 mags. I would sugest you go to this site and ask this question. A lot of people here now Garands.
http://www.jouster.com/cgi-bin/garand/garand.pl
Old August 22, 2002, 11:26 AM   #3
50 shooter

Go to this site and e-mail him www.garandm1rifle.com he knows more about the rifle then anyone I know. Probably about as much a J.Garand himself.
Old August 22, 2002, 11:48 AM   #4
Bongos

Thanks guys, it's in 308. I've never heard of this company, Though the concept is interesting
Old August 22, 2002, 12:19 PM   #5
foghornl

Bongos:

Stay as far away from that abomination as possible. One, scratching off the OEM name is a HUGE violation of the laws.

Two, IF modified to accept removeable mags, then the bottom of the receiver has been ground out, weakening the receiver. The M-1 loads from the top, using 8-round en-block clips.

Three, if the serial number was obliterated, ANOTHER HUGE violation of law. If the S/N is intact, then the OEM can be discovered. Consecutive blocks of numbers were assigned to the various manufacturers.